Recipe in Progress: Broccoli Spinach Cups

     spinachbroccolicups

     Accidentally dumping half a bottle of crushed red pepper flakes into your filling does not mean you have to start over.

It just means you are going to have to put up with [almost literally] breathing fire for the next week.

But seriously, I managed to salvage it.  I’m sure I ended up with more than the intended 1 1/2 teaspoonful, but I did   not end up imitating a dragon.

DSC04162

I originally intended to follow this recipe pretty strictly.  Even before I left my room, I knew I was going to substitute greek yogurt for the sour cream.  As I went down the stairs to the kitchen, I decided to add some broccoli for a little crunch.  As I walked through the living room to the kitchen, I began to worry that I did not have any cream cheese.  By the time I actually made it to the kitchen, it was all over.

Time to get creative.

Green is the healthiest colour.

Green is the healthiest colour.

DSC04176

The reason I am considering this a “Recipe in Progress” is because I would like to find a better, healthier recipe for the dough.  No more crescent roll dough, with its high saturated and -gasp- trans fat content!

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 cups fresh, shredded spinach

1/4 c chopped fresh broccoli

3/4 c non-fat, plain greek yogurt

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

1 can of crescent rolls (8 rolls)

Servings: 6 (2 cups = 1 serving)

Heat oven to 350oF.  Lightly spray 12-cup muffin pan with olive oil.  Lay out the crescent roll dough, and rip into 12 equal parts.  Pat each piece of dough into the muffin cups.  [Note: the dough will NOT reach the top of the muffin cups.  These are petite broccoli spinach cups!]

Shred the spinach.  [Note: If you don't shred the spinach, the spinach leaves will be too big, and when you take a bite of the finished broccoli spinach cups, all of the filling will be pulled out.  Sad.]  In a pan lightly sprayed with olive oil, fry the shredded spinach and broccoli over high heat. [Note: this will not take long-only about 2 minutes.  The broccoli will not be soft, but that's good!]  Put the spinach and broccoli in a bowl, and add greek yogurt and seasonings to taste.  Fill each dough-lined muffin cup evenly with filling.  [Note: there will not be much filling in each cup!]

Bake for 12 minutes.  Enjoy!

DSC04172 DSC04176 DSC04179

The Facts

spinach broccoli bowl nutrition facts

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

