Orange Cranberry Loaf

orange cranberry loaf

     Who doesn’t love sweet quickbreads?

Anyone?

One day I will share my healthier banana bread recipe.  But that day is not today, sadly.  Today, I decided to try a new flavour combination.  Well, new to ME, at least.  I have seen a lot of orange and cranberry combinations lately, so I decided to try it out for myself.  I used my lemon loaf recipe (which I shall post on yet another day) as the basis for this recipe, since I love the moist density of it, not to mention the total lack of oil or butter!  I’ve also designed this recipe to make a less eggy, less dense, and more bread-y type loaf than the lemon loaf.  This version turned out very nicely, though it did have a sort of thick, chewy crust.  I rather liked it, but it’s not for everyone, I suppose.  This is my first time ever making orange cranberry bread, so I may have to come back and tweak it later when I have time and the ingredients on hand again.


The Recipe

2 c flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup plain, nonfat yogurt

2/3 c orange juice

3/4 c sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/3 c chopped cranberries

1/3 c chopped pecans

Servings:  12 (1 loaf)

Preheat oven to  350oF.  Grease and flour a 9″x5″ loaf pan.  Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Then add yogurt, orange juice, sugar, eggs, and almond extract.  Mix together wet and dry ingredients.  Fold in cranberries and chopped nuts, then pour into loaf pan and bake for 55-60 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out cleanly.
Allow loaf to cool completely before cutting and serving.


The Facts

5 thoughts on “Orange Cranberry Loaf

  1. This looks really delicious! I’m a big fan of making bread at home+ no butter in your recipe => I’ll definitely try this! This looks to be nice on its own for breakfast, without honey/jam. Was it like that?

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

