Homemade Granola

 granola

I like a bit of crunch to my yogurt.

I found it is best to achieve this by adding granola.  If your granola has attained crunchiness all on its own, you best stop eating it.

I found a lot of recipes for granola that included a lot of ingredients that I do not have, and do not ever plan on having, such as flax, sunflower seeds, barley, rye, etc.  A lot of recipes called for vegetable oil  or sweeteners like maple syrup and agave.  Well, I don’t like to use vegetable oil, I’m not fancy enough to have maple syrup on hand all the time, and agave scares me a little.

So I managed to make this simple, basic granola recipe that can easily be built upon.


The Recipe

Ingredients

3 c oats, toasted

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 c UNpacked brown sugar

2 tbsp water

OPTIONAL ADDITIONS: chopped walnuts, pecans, almonds, dried fruit, etc

Servings: 9 (1/3 c = 1 serving)

Heat oven to 350oF.  Spread oats evenly over a cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes, stirring periodically.  Remove from oven when oats are slightly browned.

Reduce oven temperature to 300oF.  Mix together cinnamon, brown sugar, and water.  Add oats and any other optional additions you want, and stir.  Spread granola out on the cookie sheet you used to toast the oats, and bake for 12-15 minutes, then stir, and bake for 10 more minutes.

I added pecans, walnuts, and dried mixed berries to my granola.


The Facts

*The nutritional information does not include any of the optional additions.

14 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

      1. Yeah, I love adapting recipes to match what works for me and my family. I love the idea of NOT using oil in granola! But I think the recipe I have might be more for bars because it has honey in it too so it sticks together a bit. This looks like “loose” granola. Perfect for topping my homemade yogurt!

        Thanks.

  1. Thanks for liking my recipe! And thanks for sharing this one! I make my own granola as well and am always on the lookout for new recipes! Will have to try this one! I am new at blogging so I am still building my blog with all the recipes I enjoy making (and eating). I hope you will stop by again and find other recipes you enjoy!

    1. It does stick together a little bit, but not a lot with this recipe. I believe it is the sugar and water that, when cooked, helps it stick together. Theoretically, I think you could increase the water and sugar amounts to make it more “clumpy”, but you would have to increase the cooking time quite a bit too, because it takes quite awhile to dry out, and no one wants soggy granola! I know because I did accidentally add too much water one time. Oops.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

