Disaster: Spinach Feta Salmon Burgers

Oh, crumbs.

A typical quick Saturday lunch for my family was “salmon patties” or “tuna patties” when I was growing up.  I always enjoyed them, so I was excited to find a recipe with a fresh twist on Pinterest that included spinach and feta.  I was even more excited when I realized that we had some feta cheese in the fridge.

My excitement was short-lived.

THE DISASTER

Image
It looks sort of pretty, for a disaster.

My salmon burgers quickly became salmon crumbles.  [Please refer to picture above.]  I knew things did not bode well when my carefully formed patties fell gently apart as I laid them in the hot pan.  When I tried to flip the patty, it broke into about 3-4 pieces.  I started to grow concerned.  As I attempted to flip the patty once more a moment later, it fell into approximately 19,428 pieces.  As soon as the second patty followed suit, I took my frustration out on the third patty and chopped it angrily into pieces and fried the whole mess as salmon crumbles.

Now, to be perfectly fair, I believe this disaster is all my own fault, and not the recipe’s fault.  I did not follow the recipe exactly.  Instead of boiling fresh spinach, I decided to cut corners and use frozen spinach.  Unthawed, frozen spinach.  The excess water made the patties not hold together, and to break up more than Taylor Swift.  (Sorry, sorry….bad joke…but this means my sad joke quota is filled for the next 6 months.)

REDEMPTION?

For lunch, my family grabbed bowls and spoons and avoided things like eye contact or mentioning the fact that I had promised something like a sandwich and had instead served a mess of green and fishy bits.  They could sense my frustration, and no one wants to further anger a frustrated redhead.  Especially one who has recently been standing over a hot stove and has nothing good to show for it.

Turns out that green and fishy bits tastes alright.  Sure, I think it would have been much more appetizing as a salmon burger, but oh well.

I think these crumbles would be delicious mixed into a melty, cheesy dip of some sort.  Feta is the obvious answer.  Hot feta, spinach, salmon dip.  Dip in some crackers or crusty bits of bread.  Mmmm.

10 thoughts on “Disaster: Spinach Feta Salmon Burgers

  1. Lordy, how I sympathise! You have some fabulous-looking recipes on your blog but I was irresistibly drawn to the disasters section. We’ve all had our fair share and at least yours tasted good. Remind me to tell you some day about the Great Cowpat Tart Disaster (I was still scraping it off the kitchen cupboards months later) ….

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

