Pistachio and Sweet Potato Quinoa

So satisfying.
So satisfying.

I do not know how to pronounce “quinoa”.

I have never eaten or cooked with quinoa before this week.  I decided to splurge and take a chance and buy it.  Next, I had to figure out how to cook it, and what to make with it.  Since I had read somewhere that quinoa has a slightly nutty-flavour, I had a wonderful idea–how about putting sweet potatoes and maybe even some kind of nut with it?

Turns out my idea was not all that original.  I decided to follow this recipe just to get an idea of the flavour of quinoa, without getting too adventurous at first.  Of course I could not resist changing it just a little.  I thought rosemary would fit in with the “nutty” flavouring better than coriander, cumin, and cilantro.  It was delicious!

I think I will have fun inventing my own quinoa and sweet potato concoction in the coming weeks.

70 thoughts on “Pistachio and Sweet Potato Quinoa

      1. No not at all, we just love hearing people’s stories on how they live a healthy lifestyle by eating well and things like that.

    1. Oo, I haven’t heard that pronunciation variant yet! I think I like it better; it is a little closer to the spelling of the word, so I am more likely to remember it. I hope you like the recipe–but how could you go wrong with quinoa, sweet potato, and pistachio?

  1. i absolutely love sweet potatoes, but i had never thought of adding it to quinoa, great idea! and i love the addition of the pistachios, gives it a bit of a salty flavor and adds texture. i believe you made the right choice by adding rosemary as a stand out herb. i think thyme would compliment it well also.
    this is definitely a recipe i want to try out and mix up a bit 🙂
    nice job!

  2. You’ve discovered our secret. 🙂 We peruvians discovered this perfect food – delicious, filled with fiber and nutrients. This recipe looks delicious. You can also make it as a dessert!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

