Lightened Lemon Brownies

lemon2

For a few frustrating moments, I thought this post was going to have to be posted in the “Disaster” category.

As I was baking these lemon brownies, I also was using 2 of the burners on the stove (multi-tasking!), which is a part of the same unit.  Well, this caused two corners of faster-cooking lemon brownies to form tall peaks.  Thankfully, once they cooled, the mountains gently collapsed upon themselves and behaved, and I once again had level, flat lemon brownies.

This one time, on Pinterest…I found this recipe.  Since, as I once mentioned before, lemon-flavoured sweets are the one exception to my loosely enforced Chocolate Desserts Only rule.  These lemon brownies, or “lemonies”, intrigued me.

Almost a year later, I finally got around to making them with the help of my boyfriend.  Looking at the recipe, I was astounded by the butter-to-flour ratio.  Only 3/4 cup flour, and 1/2 cup butter?!  Another issue was the sugar.  I didn’t think 3/4 cup of sugar sounded like too much, especially considering we were including something as sour as lemon juice…but I only had 1/4 cup left on hand.  (I guess I used up all the sugar in my Crusty, Chewy Blackberry Pie Bars.  Oops.)  These turned out plenty sweet with only a third of the intended sugar!

lemon3

Now, the one suggestion I would make to further improve upon this recipe…is to add a leavening agent.  Baking soda should work, since the lemon juice can serve as the acid to activate it.  I would probably start with 1/2 teaspoon.  These lemon brownies came out very dense and reminded me a bit more of pancakes than brownies.

Perfect opportunity to experimentally lighten a recipe!  (I also got fancy with the syrup. Just because I thought honey would taste great with the lemon flavour.)

So here’s my version:

The Recipe

Brownies/”Lemonies”

3/4 c all-purpose flour

1/4 c sugar

1/4 tsp salt

2 T butter or margarine, room temperature

3/8 c non-fat, plain greek yogurt

2 eggs

1 T lemon juice

Syrup

1/4 c honey

1 1/2 tsp lemon juice

Servings: 8

Heat the oven to 350oF.  Mix the brownie batter ingredients together in a bowl.  Pour into a greased 9″x9″ pan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes cleanly out of the center of the pan.  Allow the lemon brownies to cool completely.  Mix the syrup ingredients in a small bowl, and serve over lemon brownies as desired.*

*I believe the least messy way would be to wait to drizzle the syrup over the lemon brownies until you have your single brownie cut, out of the pan, and on your plate.  This is more of a syrup than a glaze, so it won’t thicken or sit up on the lemon brownies.  But it tastes soooo gooood!

lemon2

2 thoughts on “Lightened Lemon Brownies

  1. These look incredible. I’m definitely going to try to make these at home! I’ve been able to find some pretty good recipes off Pinterest. I think the more the website grows the better variety of things to try! I also think the idea to drizzle honey on top in fantastic. Have you thought of trying any other syrups on top?

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

