Where We Ended Up: Downtown Zionsville

What do you do when the desire to travel overtakes you, but you only have three hours?

Wearing an ear-warmer headband for hours does NOT do nice things to your hair.
Wearing an ear-warmer headband for hours does NOT do nice things to your hair.

Mini day trip!

My boyfriend and I decided to make the reasonably short drive to Zionsville, IN to have lunch and do a little sight-seeing and picture taking.  (Remember my New Year’s resolution?  I’m trying!)

If you have never been to downtown Zionsville, the quaint brick road is lined with neat, tidy little shops.  Food and bookshops–a perfect combination!

Our first stop was bookshop called Black Dog Books.  As we entered, I almost ran into a real, live black dog.  I was not expecting that, but it was a lovely surprise.  The shop had both new and antique books, a selection of maps between 100-200 years old, and a small colourful art gallery in the back.

typewriter
Beautiful old typewriter. It makes me want to take up novel-writing.

gallery2 gallery

The next (and sadly, last) stop was Grapevine Cottage.  Not being much of wine-drinkers (or any kind of alcohol, really) we almost passed it up, but we happened to see a selection of specialty crackers, sauces, salsas, and other foods just inside the windows.  Of course we had to go inside!

Grapvine Cottage, Zionsville, IN

Brie baker...oh how I love brie.  Maybe one day I shall have one of these.
Brie baker…oh how I love brie. Maybe one day I shall have one of these.

I could have spent hours looking at all the interesting foods, and a few interesting cookbooks, but we were running out of time.  We did, however, purchase some wensleydale cheese with cranberries.  I’ve never had wensleydale cheese, but it made me think of Wallace and Gromit: A Close Shave.  Such a great movie.

ideas
Hmm…just getting some ideas for good flavour combinations. Maybe you will see some of these in future recipes?

vinegars wensleydaleAny suggestions for how to eat wensleydale?  Or what to combine it with?

Unfortunately we did not have enough time to explore as fully as we would have liked, so we may have to go back another time when we are not so rushed.

3 thoughts on “Where We Ended Up: Downtown Zionsville

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. I jumped over to your blog to see who you were. A post about Zionsville, Indiana caught my eye! We lived there for 5 1/2 years. We loved every minute of it, even the snow! I loved reading this post. Brought back lots of memories.

    1. Oh, well thanks for investigating! I’ve lived in Indiana my whole life, and probably will remain here, partly because of family and partly because my pharmacist license to practice will be for Indiana when I graduate next year. I’m not complaining! I’m glad this provided a little nostalgia.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

