Pesto Grilled Avocado Sandwich

Pesto Grilled Avocado Sandwich

I have a confession.  This recipe is a result of my laziness and a mistake.

I glanced at a recipe that was intended to be for a grilled pesto mozzarella sandwich with a separate avocado-tomato salad on the side.  I guess I did not look at the picture too closely either.  Who needs to read a recipe for a sandwich anyway?  [Yes…I do realize that I, myself, am giving a recipe for a sandwich only a slight scroll further down this page.]

Anyway, I love all the ingredients, and I love that the olive oil is the perfect flavour for this combination.  No butter necessary!
The Recipe

Ingredients

2 slices of bread (I like hearty, whole grain, whole wheat bread)

olive oil

1/4 of an avocado

3 thin slices of skim mozzarella cheese

2 slices of tomato

1 T pesto*

Servings: 1 sandwich

Lightly brush one side of each slice of bread with olive oil**.  Lay both slices of bread, oiled side down, in a pan over medium heat.  Layer the mozzarella, avocado, and tomato on one slice of bread.  Spread the pesto on the other slice of bread.  Allow to fry for approximately 5-8 minutes, or until browned and crispy, and the cheese has begun to melt.  Carefully flip the pesto covered bread on top of the other slice of bread, and enjoy!

*If you do not have pesto (which I rarely do, unless it is summer and I can make some from home-grown basil) you can sprinkle a dash of salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and a more generous dash of basil and parmesan cheese on the sandwich instead.  Sure, this will be a little more dry, but with the juicy tomato and moist avocado and melty cheese…it will not matter.

**I like to use my fancy-schmancy new oil mister that I got for Christmas!

DSC04399 DSC04412

Just look at all that avocado...and that melty cheese...mmm...
Just look at all that avocado…and that melty cheese…mmm…

And just in case anyone was wondering…I misspelled “sandwich” every single time I typed it in this post.  I do not understand how I can spell words such as “definitely” and “misspelled”, but not “sandwich”.  Oh well.

9 thoughts on “Pesto Grilled Avocado Sandwich

  1. Wow that sounds delicious. Thank you for the recipe. Hopefully my daughter will like it too although she tends to not like tomato. Thanks for visiting my blog too.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

