Cilantro Almond Quinoa

Cilantro Almond Quinoa

I may be losing my mind.

I intended to include chicken in this recipe–chicken marinaded for 2 hours in lime juice, cilantro, basil, and maybe some more seasonings and sauces, and then browned nicely to make them crispier and more flavourful.  Alas, when I opened the freezer, there were no chicken tenderloins or chicken breasts to be found.  I do not know if they got up and left on their own or if I am losing my mind.  I would bet the latter, but you see…to lose your mind, you have to have possession of it in the first place.  That, my friends, is questionable.

Remember how I had a “Recipe in Progress” that had pistachios and sweet potato with quinoa?  Well, I changed things up a little here, and this is what I came up with.

Luckily, this delicious dish did not need the chicken.  The chicken broth brought a warmer flavour side to the dish to balance the cooler lime, cilantro, and avocado mix.  The sweet potato held the balance, and the almond added a the needed crunch.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 c quinoa

1 c low sodium chicken broth

1 small sweet potato

1/2 avocado

lime juice

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

basil

cilantro

whole almonds

Servings: 3

Rinse quinoa well.  Pour into small sauce pan with chicken broth and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, reduce heat to medium and simmer for approximately 25 minutes, until all the broth has been absorbed.  Meanwhile, peel and dice the sweet potato.  Boil sweet potato in water until tender.  Drain and set aside.  Dice avocado and set aside.  When the quinoa is ready, add sweet potato and avocado and spices, lime juice, and almonds to taste.  Stir, and enjoy!

Colours!
Colours!

cilantro lime almond avocado quinoa sweet potato avocado lime quinoa almonds

7 thoughts on “Cilantro Almond Quinoa

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

