Disaster: Old Sock, Tomato, and Spinach Pizza

Image
Blergh.

Ok, ok, it was goat cheese on the pizza, not old socks.

But my taste buds sure were convinced.

I thought I would be adventurous and try goat cheese since so many people had raved and raved about it.  Surely so many people could not be wrong!  As it turns out, insanity must be running rampant in society.  I guess there really is not safety in numbers.

This meal really was a disaster from the beginning.  For some reason, my trusty pizza dough recipe was a disaster.  I am starting to wonder if my “3 cups of flour” is a typo.  I think 2 cups would have been plenty.  So I had excessively dry dough that would not spread on the pan.  Then I realized I was out of tomato sauce.

Wouldn’t you think that puree-ing some tomatoes and adding spices with a little balsamic vinegar would create a pretty decent tomato sauce?  Somehow I ended up with what looked like dry, pale orange….vomit.  I am sorry, there is no more pleasant way to phrase it.

The spinach and tomatoes did not cause any problems.  In fact, the tomato slices were toasted to perfection, when the pizza came out of the oven.

But then came the goat cheese.  Blergh.  Old socks.  That’s all I have to say.

Image
In the trash. Where it belongs.
14 thoughts on “Disaster: Old Sock, Tomato, and Spinach Pizza

  1. This is a riot. Reminds me of when 12 of us are at a local inn, having a fabulous dinner, waiting for scallops with gruyère and the smell of old gym shoes came wafting out of the kitchen. Old Burning Gym Shoes. Seems there are two kinds of gruyère… my husband reminds me we called it the “armpit gruyère”!! Needless to say, we hoped for side dishes and dessert.

  2. Ahh, yes. This is reminiscent of the Great Gnocchi Debacle of ’08. My family still shudders. The word “phlegm” was actually used! We must learn from our failures.
    Thanks for checking out the deerslayer’s wife. No gnocchi recipes!

  3. I quite like goats cheese but I’d rather have mozzarella or cheddar on a pizza, I don’t think goats cheese really works that well like that. In a nice salad, cut into cubes tossed with a little olive oil, black pepper and maybe some garlic it’s delicious! If you’re looking for a good, easy pizza sauce recipe you might want to check out mine http://www.fatgirlslimblog.co.uk/?p=4988 it’s tried and tested and I always keeps some in the freezer for emergencies 🙂

  4. Try it again with fresh-pulled mozzarella!! I bet it would be fantastic. Goat cheese definitely takes some getting used to. I never would have though to put it on a pizza. Try it on a salad?

  5. This brings back a memory. My second husband and my kids loved Tuna Casseroles. One day, I discovered that I was out of bread crumbs. Well, I rummaged through the cabinet and found some graham cracker crumbs. I figured crumbs are crumbs! My casserole would up in the same place as your pizza. Thanks for sharing this.

  6. It happens to the best of us. I had a massive failure two weeks ago with a curry chicken recipe. I added way too much curry and allspice. The word grotesque doesn’t even cut it. It was so bad. We ended up dumping it all making pizza instead. Meh, at least our pizza turned out great. Keep trying, you’ll get there 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

