Homemade Barbecue Chicken

Barbeque Chicken

   For the most part, I dislike barbecue sauce.

It’s too…burnt flavoured, if that makes any sense.  For whatever reason, I love smoked-flavoured things, but I do not enjoy burnt flavouring.

Now, trust me.  Despite the ingredients, the barbecue sauce is delicious.  Something about slowly baking it for an hour transforms it into a more-than-edible delectable.  Believe me.  I dislike ketchup, and I dislike barbecue, so if anyone should dislike this, it is me.  But I love it, so I think that pretty much guarantees that EVERYONE will love this.  Nice logic, right?

Anyway, this is a recipe from my grandma (not the one who gave me the Almond Press Cookie recipe).  I suggest serving cornbread and green beans with this chicken.  Or sweet potato biscuits.  I LOOOOVE sweet potato biscuits.  If anyone is interested, I will share what recipe I use to make the moistest, most delicious sweet potato biscuits ever.
The Recipe

Barbecue Sauce

1 c ketchup

1 c water

1/4 c brown sugar

Chicken

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 c flour

1 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 1/2 ground mustard

1 1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp celery salt

1/4 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp oregano

1/8 tsp basil

1/8 tsp salt

olive oil for browning the chicken

Servings: 3

Heat oven to 350oF.  Mix the barbecue sauce in a bowl and set aside.  Mix the flour and spices in another bowl.  Slice the chicken breasts horizontally and pat dry to create two thinner pieces of chicken.  Dredge the chicken in the flour and spice mixture.  Brown the chicken on both sides in a pan over medium-high heat, then place in a greased 13″x9″ pan.  Pour the barbecue sauce over the chicken and bake for 1 hour, or until tender.

homemade barbeque chicken

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

