Zucchini Bread

healthy zucchini bread

Although we rarely saw a great aunt of mine face-to-face, she always appeared twice a year:

In the form of homemade caramels around Christmas, and several Ziploc bags of frozen shredded zucchini in the summer.

It may sound like the caramels were much more welcome than the zucchini; however, both were equally welcome. ย The zucchini also came with family recipes for zucchini bread and cookies that were as welcome as the delicious, slightly soft, and gooey caramels.

You might also be thinking to yourself, “It’s ZUCCHINI bread…isn’t that already healthy?”. No. It has a ton of sugar, and oil. So I replaced the oil and reduced the sugar considerably. Dinner of Herbs is all about being healthier.

I am providing you with the original recipe, along with my healthier, adapted version.

The Recipe

Ingredients

3 eggs beaten

2 cups sugar –> I reduced to 2/3 c sugar

1 cup vegetable oil –> I used nonfat, plain greek yogurt

2 cups grated unpeeled zucchini

2 cups flour

ยผ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. vanilla

1 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Servings: 2 loaves

Heat oven to 325oF. ย Add sugar and oil to beaten eggs. Mix well. Mix in zucchini. Sift dry ingredients together and add to zucchini mixture. Mix well. Add vanilla and nuts and mix. Pour into two greasd and floured 9X5 in. loaf pans. Bake about 50-60 minutes (until toothpick comes out clean.)

Look at that lovely, dark, shiny crust.
Look at that lovely, dark, shiny crust.
The walnuts absolutely made this bread.
The walnuts absolutely made this bread.
15 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread

  1. So, I finally made this last week. Since then, I’ve made this several times (I’ve been freezing one loaf every time for when I go on vacation next month)! I’m so glad I found this cause it tastes exactly like my mom’s, but so much more healthier! Thanks again ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh wow! This looks absolutely fantastic – I’ll have to make it sometime. I probably wouldn’t even have known it was zucchini bread if it hadn’t said, which is good because then my sister will eat it…
    On another note, thank you for stopping by our blog and liking our post!
    -Manda

    1. You’re very welcome for the like!
      Yes, the zucchini is very sneaky in this recipe. The first time I heard of zucchini bread (and zucchini cookies) I was very cautious. I was surprised when I loved it–it has a wonderful texture AND flavour.

  3. The bread sounds lovely! This recipe goes into the recipe binder. Thanks for your visit to my blog earlier and the “like” ๐Ÿ™‚ .

  4. I love that you’re providing different ingredients for recipes to make it healthier!
    Is it possible to replace the oil in brownies with greek yogurt and still make them fudgy?

    1. Hm. I did post a Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie recipe about a month ago https://dinnerofherbsblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/chocolate-peanut-butter-brownies/ in which I used greek yogurt and no oil. I believe the creaminess of the peanut butter combined with the egg and the little bit of extra water helped to make them more fudgy and a little less cakey than the original recipe. If the brownies didn’t have peanut butter, or you were using a box mix, I would probably try adding just a little more yogurt than the amount of oil called for. Or, the general trick is to add an extra egg. It may do nothing other than lengthen the cooking time, but it’s worth a shot!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

