Pesto Rosso Gnocchi with Spinach

Pesto Rosso Gnocchi with Spinach

I should probably apologize for sharing such a deceivingly simple, yet dangerously delicious recipe.

Since I tried gnocchi for the first time back in November, I have quickly eaten my way through 3 pounds of 3 different types of gnocchi: original, basil, and whole wheat.  I look forward to trying sweet potato gnocchi next.

Also, I’ve had basil pesto before and loved it.  However, I thought it was time to branch out and try some other pesto variations.  You know, to hold me over until summer when I can make homemade basil pesto with homegrown basil from the garden.

I probably used up at least a year’s worth of luck and good fortune, because last week Aldi had BOTH whole wheat gnocchi AND pesto rosso.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 lb whole wheat gnocchi

6 Tbsp pesto rosso

1 1/2 c fresh spinach

2 roma tomatoes, diced

Servings: 3-4

Fry gnocchi in a pan over medium heat with a light spray of olive oil until crispy on all sides.  Stir in pesto rosso, spinach, and tomato.  Heat until warmed through and spinach has wilted.  Serve immediately, and enjoy!

Look at that salad.
Look at that salad.

pesto rosso spinach whole wheat gnocchi

5 thoughts on “Pesto Rosso Gnocchi with Spinach

  1. I have not prepared gnocchi in such a long time. This looks incredible. I love it! And that salad pops!!

  2. Interesting…you fry the gnocchi huh? I’ve never tried it that way, only boiled. Frying it cooks the pasta enough as well as warm the center?

    1. Yep! As long as you keep it on medium heat, rather than cranking it up as hot as it will go, it will fry slowly, allowing the middle to warm and the outside to get crispy without burning. I’ve never boiled it because it seems like it would come out as a soggy lump; I much prefer a crisp crunchy outside with a soft middle.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

