Recipe in Progress: Whole Wheat Bagels

Whole Wheat Bagels

I still have yet to solve the mystery of how so many different types of bread seem to all come from the same combination of yeast, water, flour, and a very little sugar.

I have been wanting to make homemade whole wheat bagels for quite some time.  It turns out that there are two vastly different ways of going about making bagels: the easier, quicker method, and the longer method. I decided to start with the shorter method, just to see how it went.

I used this recipe as a basis for my recipe.  They turned out pretty well, but I think they would have been even better if I had not messed up the timing with the boiling and the oven getting up to temperature.  Some serious planning (and a bit of luck) are needed near the end of this bagel-making process!

I cut the recipe in half.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/3 c lukewarm water

1/2 tsp yeast

1 Tbsp sugar

1 c whole wheat flour

1 1/4 c all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

olive oil

Servings: 6 bagels

Combine yeast and sugar in lukewarm water and allow to proof for approximately 5 minutes, or until foamy and fragrant.  In a separate large bowl, sift together flours and salt.  Combine proofed yeast and flours until just combined.  Knead for approximately 5 minutes, or until well combined, and dough is elastic.  Let rise in a lightly oiled bowl, covered, for 3 hours.

After 3 hours, separate the dough into 6 equal balls.  Lay on well-greased cookie sheet and loosely cover for 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes, carefully form a hole in the center of each ball, creating the bagel shape.  Let rest, covered loosely, for another 20 minutes while you preheat the oven to 500oF, and bring a large pot of water to a boil.

When the bagels have finished resting, boil each bagel for approximately 30 seconds on each side.    After boiling, place back on well-greased cookie sheet and place in oven for 5 minutes.  Without removing the bagels, turn the temperature down to 350oF and bake for another 10 minutes.  Flip and bake for 5 more minutes.  Allow to cool, and enjoy!

All snug, tucked in for their 20 minutes "rest".
All snug, tucked in for their 20 minutes “rest”.
Ready to be boiled, then baked!
Ready to be boiled, then baked!
5 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress: Whole Wheat Bagels

  1. Nice! See my post on master baker Peter Reinhart’s bagel recipe. I’ve successfully made them twice; very easy if you use a stand mixer for the kneading. They’re worth the effort! 🙂

    1. Ah, but I don’t have a stand mixer! Sadly, I’m just a poor college student, so I have to do all my kneading by hand. Luckily I enjoy it–it’s a great stress-reliever. 🙂 I will have to check out your post.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

