Whole Wheat English Muffins

Whole Wheat English Muffins

I am an Anglophile.

There’s no denying it.  I love the literature, the language-not just the accent-, and the food.  One day I shall travel to the UK and I am sure I will love the country and the landscape.  I am sure of it.

Until that day, I decided to make homemade English muffins.  I will probably munch on one while sipping tea.

I used this recipe.  Notes:  The dough was still a little sticky, so I had to add a little extra flour: probably only about a tablespoon or two.  I cut the recipe in half, yet still made 9 muffins.  I suggest rolling them thinner than 1/2 inch as the recipe calls for, or else you will have a difficult time getting them to cook through without burning.

I LOVED these.  I suggest storing them in the fridge.  When you are ready to eat one, slice it in half, and toast it before slathering it with butter or honey or preserves.

Another lovely note, is that since I made 9 out of half the recipe, these are only 100 calories each.  They are approximately the size of Thomas English muffins that you might buy at the grocery store.

8 perfect muffins rising...and the ugly mutant one.  Don't worry, it tasted just as delicious as the others!
8 perfect muffins rising…and the ugly mutant one. Don’t worry, it tasted just as delicious as the others!
Ready to be baked.
Ready to be baked.

whole wheat english muffins whole wheat english muffins

Don't forget to eat your fruit!
Don’t forget to eat your fruit!
14 thoughts on “Whole Wheat English Muffins

  1. I lived in London for three years. I always thought of myself as a Francophile, but England is equally wonderful–except the weather. No doubt you’re a Downton Abbey fan, too!

    After reading Wheat Belly, I’ve been avoiding wheat flour (regular and whole grain), but I’d like to try making these muffins using barley, spelt and einkhorn. However, I’m confused about whether you bake them or cook them in a skillet?

    1. I loooove Downton Abbey, how did you know? 🙂

      I have been trying to cut down on wheat too, lately. Let me know how your version turns out! You cook them in a skillet. You let them rise, and then you cook them in a skillet over low heat to cook through and brown both sides.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

