Recipe in Progress: Nutella Frosting

Nutella Frosting

Silly me, I thought Nutella was already pretty much the proper consistency to use as frosting.

According to Pinterest, no.

My brother requested a butter pecan cake with Nutella frosting for his birthday.  Interesting combination.

So the Pinterest search began.  I found several variations.  One used cream cheese, which intrigued me.  I am not a huge fan of buttercream frosting.  I do not like the taste of powdered sugar, and buttercream recipes seem to be overloaded with powdered sugar.  Unfortunately, my brother said he would prefer one of the buttercream variations.  I selected this one.

After adding only the first cup of powdered sugar to my Nutella-butter concoction, it almost turned into dough.  I was starting to wonder if I was going to need to pick it up out of the bowl and knead it for 5 minutes to incorporate the rest of the powdered sugar.  So I didn’t wait to add the condensed milk–except, no, I did not have condensed milk.  So, here is my version of Nutella frosting, so far:

The Recipe

Ingredients

6 Tbsp butter, room temperature

3/4 c Nutella or other chocolate hazelnut spread

2 c powdered sugar

3 Tbsp evaporated milk

Servings: Slightly more than enough to frost a two 9″ cake rounds.

Mix butter and Nutella together in a large bowl.  Slowly add powdered sugar and evaporated milk, alternating between the two ingredients.  Blend until smooth, and enjoy!

nutella icing 2 nutella icing

 

So why is this only a Recipe in Progress?  Because although I loved it when I first tasted it…it is WAY TOO SWEET.  Moderation is the key with this recipe.  Apply a very thin layer to your cake!  Here are my tentative plans of action:

1. Next time, I think I would stop after 1 c of powdered sugar.  Hey, I might not need any at all!  I’m also wondering if the butter is necessary.  Nutella already has fat in it…

2. I could try going the cream cheese route.

3. Or maybe I could try a totally different consistency, and do a Nutella and Cool Whip mixture.  That would be less calorically dense…

If anyone is interested in one of those methods, let me know, and I can try that first!

9 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress: Nutella Frosting

  1. Oh my. I think I am in love. Any chance the recipe for the butter pecan cake is available? Just the thought of that AND nutella frosting and I’m swooning over here.
    Yum, yum, yum.
    Sheila

    1. Well it was mostly a cheat recipe:
      1 box butter cake
      2 c pecans, chopped
      butter ( I used about 2-3 Tbsp)
      Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat, and stir in pecans until they are coated in the butter. Leave over heat, stirring occasionally for approximately 5-10 minutes, or just until the pecans become very fragrant. (You want to remove them from the heat as soon as you notice the smell intensify, or else you will burn them. Burnt pecans aren’t very good, haha. And trust me, you will KNOW when the pecans are done. They smell terrific.) Prepare the cake batter per box instructions, and stir in the pecans. Bake per box instructions.
      Maybe one of these days I will work on creating a recipe from scratch…and maybe one that is a wee bit healthier. 🙂

  2. We cook the same way–making it up as we go along 🙂 Love your frosting story. I was sure I was already following you, but apparently no. Have fixed it so now I definitely am. Always appreciate your stopovers at foodforfun!

    1. I usually only have a vague idea of what ingredients I want to use when I start a new recipe–but this justifies taste-testing it many times along the way, right? 🙂 Thanks for following!

  3. Cream cheese would be your best bet unless you wanted to make a ganache-type glaze. I would skip the Cool Whip variation. The consistency of the Nutella and whipped topping are too different to combine nicely, I’d think.

    1. The cream cheese version does sound good…however, I still hold hope for the Cool Whip version! It would require a lot of mixing, and I know you are not supposed to mix Cool Whip, but I have before, and nothing dreadful happened, so I think I could risk it again!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

