Brie, Balsamic Strawberry, and Spinach Wrap

Brie, Balsamic Strawberry, and Spinach Wrap | Dinner of Herbs

Waste not, want not.

That was my motto going into this recipe.  I used up my last tortilla, the last of my spinach leaves, and I am still working away on my brie and strawberries.  Success!

I’ve seen recipes for balsamic strawberries that all include some kind of sweetener (and oddly enough, they all seem to include black pepper also).  I think warm, ripe strawberries provide plenty of their own sweetness.  Besides, I did not want the sweetness to overwhelm the contrasting flavour of the spinach.  I was trying to make an acceptable light dinner, not a dessert!

It's so colourful!  It's like Christmas!
It’s so colourful! It’s like Christmas!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 whole wheat tortilla

2-4 large strawberries, sliced

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 oz brie, rind removed

1 small handful of fresh spinach

Servings: 1 wrap

Slice the strawberries and place in pan over medium heat with balsamic vinegar.  Stir occasionally, and remove from heat when the strawberries are tender and the balsamic vinegar has mostly cooked off.  Place the tortilla in the pan.  Thinly slice the brie and place it on top of one half of the tortilla.  Pour the strawberries over top of the brie.  Fold up the tortilla, but leave it in the pan to melt the brie.   Once the brie is melted, remove from the pan, unfold to add the spinach, and re-fold the wrap.  Enjoy!

brie balsamic strawberry spinach wrap
The brie is in there, I promise. It’s just hiding out under the strawberries and spinach.
19 thoughts on “Brie, Balsamic Strawberry, and Spinach Wrap

  1. Colorful food always gets me, thanks. Please i’m a fellow wordpress food blogger and would like to know how to write on my pictures just like you did.

    1. Well, I have a program called “Corel Painter Essentials” that came free with the Bamboo tablet I got for Christmas a few years ago. However, luckily I don’t think you need such a special program.
      I believe if you open the picture file (.jpg for me) in Paint (or Paintbrush, if you have a Mac like me) then you can add text to the picture. It also has options to let you choose the font, colour, and size of the text. I then save the picture as a .jpg file to my desktop to upload to WordPress.
      If you need any more details than that, let me know! Hope this helps–I’m not exactly known for my great computer tutorials. 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

