Tarragon Vegetable-Potato Soup

Tarragon Vegetable-Potato Soup | Dinner of Herbs

Adventures in spices… Today: tarragon!

Although soup, especially potato soup, seems to be more of a warm, comforting dish reserved for the cold depths of winter, I had 2 bags of potatoes sitting in the pantry calling my name.

Luckily, I had a new spice that I wanted to try.  So, I did the obvious thing to do when you encounter a new spice and are not sure what it tastes like, or what foods it should be used in: I smelled it.  I’m pretty glad neither of my roommates walked into the kitchen while I was sniffing the spices; it might have gotten awkward.

Poised....ready to eat, at a moment's notice.  That's me.
Poised….ready to eat, at a moment’s notice. That’s me.

Tarragon had a light, sweet smell to it.  In other words, it was the perfect herb to bring this wintery dish into the light, sweet springtime.  Rosemary complemented it fairly well, and I love rosemary, so it of course could not hurt.

Since I do not use heavy creams, this soup is mainly thickened by boiling off the water, and boiling the potatoes to the point where they start to break down.

So this, is the super easy, low-fat soup for spring!

The Recipe

Ingredients

14 oz low-sodium chicken broth

water, as needed

1 c milk*

2 medium Yukon gold potatoes, diced

1 c chopped carrots

1/2 c chopped raw broccoli

1/2 tsp tarragon

2 tsp crushed rosemary

salt

pepper

Servings: 3-5 bowls

Bring the chicken broth to a boil in a large pot over high heat.  Add the carrots and diced potatoes to the broth, and add enough water to cover the vegetables.  Bring to a boil again.  Boil until the potatoes and carrots are just beginning to soften, and then add broccoli, milk, tarragon, rosemary, salt and pepper.  [This will take 15-30 minutes, depending on the size of carrots and potatoes that you used.]  Boil for about 5 more minutes while stirring, or until all the vegetables are fork-tender.  Serve immediately, and enjoy!

*I used 1% milk.

Simple.  Healthy.  Delish
Simple. Healthy. Delish
4 thoughts on “Tarragon Vegetable-Potato Soup

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

