Potato Drop Biscuits

Potato Drop Biscuits | Dinner of Herbs

Do not judge a biscuit by its appearance.

Just as with people, rolled biscuits involve a lot more work and time and effort and are therefore prettier; however, just as with people again, drop biscuits are just as delicious, and show that it is what is inside that counts.

Ok, confession.  Originally these were intended to be rolled biscuits, but I did not have the time or patience to deal with rolling ridiculously sticky dough out today.

These biscuits are very soft and very moist*.  And they manage to be that way with no butter or oil.  Oh, heaven.

Soft....moist.....so soft....like a pillow.....or a cloud....or a pillow cloud....
Soft….moist…..so soft….like a pillow…..or a cloud….or a pillow cloud….

I’m going to give you a wonderful tip: these biscuits are a zillion times tastier (and therefore a zillion times more dangerous) if you use sweet potato instead of regular old Yukon gold potato.  I’m not sure I can suggest using red potatoes for this…I think those might not come out too well.  If someone tries using red potatoes, let me know how it turns out!

*Due to their moistness, if you do not eat all these within the first few hours of making them, I suggest storing them in the refrigerator to make them last longer.  Moldy potato drop biscuits are no good.  No, no, no.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c white whole wheat flour

1/2 Tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 Tbsp sugar

3/8 c 1% milk

1/2 c mashed potatoes**

1/4 c non-fat plain yogurt

Servings: 9 biscuits

Heat oven to 400oF.  Bring a pot of water to a boil over high heat.  Add diced potatoes and boil until fork-tender.  Mash the potatoes.  While the potatoes are still boiling, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar together in a bowl.  Then add the milk, yogurt, and mashed potato.   Stir well until combined.  Drop by heaping spoonful onto a cookie sheet.  Bake for 13-16 minutes, or until the bottoms and edges are lightly browned.  Enjoy!

**I used Yukon gold potatoes.

Do not let the spiky, prickly exterior deter you...these are extremely soft, delicious biscuits.
Do not let the spiky, prickly exterior deter you…these are extremely soft, delicious biscuits.

potato drop biscuits3

31 thoughts on “Potato Drop Biscuits

  1. These look so yummy! What a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes, which we have from time to time.
    Can’t wait to try your recipe! Any suggestions for a dairy-free version? I’m thinking mabye applesauce and a Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to replace the yogurt?

    1. That might work, but I am a little concerned about the texture. When I have used applesauce as a substitute, it has only been in stronger flavoured breads like banana bread, and the texture came out slightly tough and a bit acidic. You could go for a less healthy option and use oil, or if you want to stick with a healthy version (albeit a more expensive one) then I would suggest using a soy-based yogurt. I don’t have experience with soy-based yogurt, but I know it is a dairy-free option. Avocado would make these green and change the flavour, but it would probably come up with the appropriate texture. Let me know what you try and how it works out!

  2. This is a brilliant recipe! I also agree that it comes down to taste- some of those picture perfect manufactured baked goodies don’t taste like much. And no eggs or oil! I must try these, my toddler would love it I’m sure. Thanks so much for dropping by my blog!!

  3. Re: their appearance, just call them “rustic.” Everybody will be all over that. Personally, I think they look really, really good. Thanks for the “like” on my last post. I’ve added your blog to my reader! Your recipes look delicious.

    Lisa @ Zoup to Nuts!

  4. I am going to try your recipe with a little twist as I make these into shortcakes and serve with strawberries so I add a small amount of sugar or sugar substitute (it depends on the dinner guests) and some home made whipped cream. Will post when I make again…thank you for sharing.

      1. My hubby was used to those yellow cake things in the store till we got married and I made a homemade biscuit similar to yours. Now we just walk on by those lol…he will never go back lol.

  5. Oh my gosh. I’ve been CRAVING homemade biscuits!! Too bad these have gluten… the hunt for great GF biscuits is daunting… Great blog! I’m glad you found me so I can enjoy your blog, too! xo

  6. Sounds yummy! I’m definitely going to try these with sweet potatoes! I’ve only recently heard of sweet potato biscuits and have been wanting to make some. 🙂

  7. I never have the patience to roll out and cut biscuits either! I have lovely biscuit cutters I have never used!
    These sound delicious – can’t wait to try both versions (sweet and yukon)

    1. See, I don’t even have biscuit cutters…I am left trying to find an appropriately sized glass or cup to use to cut biscuits when I make roll-and-cut biscuits. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 🙂

  8. That looks so good! And I love that you use ww flour and sweet potato. I’m all for simple, so applaud your “drop instead of roll” philosophy 🙂

    1. I love sweet potatoes–I could probably eat them everyday. I even honestly prefer sweet potato fries to regular french fries! (I’m not sure that I qualify as an American anymore, after that confession, haha.)

  9. I think these are beautiful even though they aren’t perfect little circles! And no butter or oil?! A miracle! I can’t wait to try this recipe, I think I’ll use your tip and try it with sweet potatoes!

    1. The sweet potato version is to die for. I have learned to only let myself make them when I have people over to eat them, so I don’t end up eating half the batch in one day by myself. And I’m sure you realize, but just in case, I will warn you that the sweet potato ones come out a vibrant yellowy-orange. I think they are pretty!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

