White Whole Wheat Naan

Naan

I really have not had any Indian cuisine.

Other than naan.  After naan, who needs to eat anything else?

naan

I had to include this one, simply because the focus was interesting.
I had to include this one, simply because the focus was interesting.

I barely, slightly, adapted this recipe.  I subbed in some whole wheat flour and altered the procedure to make it more manageable.  One big change is that I could not stand the thought of leaving a dough with yogurt and milk in it sitting in a warm place for 2 hours…it just seemed like the perfect hotbed for bacteria.  I know, I know, the bread then gets cooked–but did you know that it is often not the bacteria itself (which does get killed during cooking) that causes food poisoning, but the toxins produced by the bacteria?  Guess what.  The toxins do not care about being cooked.  They still make you ill.

DSC04773

I love my French rolling pin.  I was skeptical at first, but it works wonderfully.
I love my French rolling pin. I was skeptical at first, but it works wonderfully.

Ok, that rant aside, I also added some whole wheat flour.  Of course.  I found that these had a slightly pretzel-like flavour.  Since pretzels get their unique flavour from being boiled in baking soda water, my theory is that the baking soda reacts with the water that you rub on it while you cook it.

Look how much it bubbles up!
Look how much it bubbles up!

I made a delicious wrap using the naan as flatbread, and I will post that recipe next time.  Stay tuned.  🙂

The Recipe

Ingredients
1/2 c all purpose flour

1/2 c white whole wheat flour

3/8 tsp baking powder

3/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup non-fat, plain yogurt

1/4 cup 1% milk (warmed)

Servings: 3 naan

Sift together flours, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt.  Add the yogurt, and most of the milk*, and stir to combine.  Lightly oil your hands, and knead for 5-7 minutes until the dough is elastic.  Cover and let sit in a warm place for  a little over an hour.

After an hour has passed, divide the dough into 3 pieces.  Roll out the pieces on a lightly floured surface, until they are about 1/8th of an inch thick.  Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.  Once it is heated, lightly rub one side of each naan with water, and immediately place the naan water-side down in the skillet and cover with a lid.  Let cook for approximately 2 minutes, or until it is puffed and the top no longer looks moist.  Flip and briefly allow to cook on the other side before serving.  Enjoy!

naan

*You may not use all of the milk.  I used virtually the full 1/4 cup of milk.

naan whole wheat

27 thoughts on “White Whole Wheat Naan

  1. Lovely!!! I have a question for you. Which wordpress template do you use / mind if I steal if possible? I love it and the drawback with mine is that it doesn’t order things from newest to oldest (lame)

    1. I use Suburbia, and of course I don’t mind if you steal it! I get to choose which posts show up larger by making them “sticky posts”. Otherwise, the most recent posts show up on the first page. (I also get to choose how many posts show up on the first page.) If you have any other more specific questions, I would be happy to help, but it’s pretty easy to play with. 🙂

  2. Looks lovely! I LOVE naan bread, will need to try this recipe!
    About the food safety issue, just remember that it’s usually the things that get in contact with the food that makes it dangerous, not the food itself. And not all bacteria are bad! In fact, yogurt contains healthy bacteria and needs heat to ferment; so if you use clean utensils/dishes/hands, high quality ingredients and keep it covered, away from things like meat, I wouldn’t worry too much about it, but I agree, better be safe than sorry 🙂

  3. I also add whole wheat flour to my naan. Also I do tend to make up my naan at lunch time and only let rise maybe 2 hours, but I do let the yogurt and milk rise that long. Never had a problem before. Do love my naan and if you love naan, you should try some other indian food too!

    1. Yes, I have a feeling that it is very unlikely that something bad could happen…but I am just unwilling to take the risk, especially when these turned out perfectly fine after only letting them set about an hour. I probably will get around to trying more Indian foods at some point–do you have any specific suggestions?

  4. Nice work…many people would be intimidated to try and make this kind of bread. Really, Naan is so versatile and you can add anything to make it sweet or savory. Some basic flavored Naans are garlic and onion but it really comes down to determining what you’re going to pair it with to see what would make for the best flavor and ingredient combination.

  5. This is the second recipe for naan I’ve seen in as many days–you are so on trend! I love love love naan so will totally be making this. Everything is always so pretty on your site 🙂

    Good call on the food safety issues. Getting sick would be a bad thing. Also, I have the same rolling pin and LOVE it.

    1. That’s funny, because I felt like I was behind because I have had this recipe for almost a year now, and only just now got around to it!

      Lack of food safety is a big pet peeve of mine…which is hard to deal with sometimes when I am cooking with other people. I do my best to not be annoying or overbearing, but at the same time the more OCD part of me is screaming inside. It really is unfortunate, because I do enjoy cooking with people.

  6. Looks delicious! One suggestion to make it more authentic, is that naan is often flavoured with some black onion (nigella) seeds, a delicious spice. Well done on making it healthier with the whole wheat, I haven’t tried that. Mine is unhealthily swimming in butter too, a la Indian restaurant-style! Will have to give yours a shot 🙂

    1. Mmm, that sounds delicious! I left these as plain as possible, because I was intending to sort of use them as flatbread wraps for sandwiches and things, but that sounds like a great idea so I can just eat them plain. With the water and a nonstick pan I was able to avoid the ocean of butter. 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

