Disaster/Recipe in Progress: Lemon Bundt Cake

Lemon Bundt Cake | Dinner of Herbs

Disaster or Recipe in Progress?

Both!  My first attempt at this cake definitely had some disastrous results, but I believe there is some hope.  First, I will tell you why the cake can be classified as a disaster:

I should have known better.

No sensibly sized recipe includes two full cans of sweetened condensed milk.   Even mixing up the batter, which virtually filled my large mixing bowl, was not enough to stop me.  I charged onwards, and filled the bundt pan with the batter and put it in the oven!

SO.  MUCH.  CAKE.
SO. MUCH. CAKE.

IT TURNED INTO A MONSTER.

This was also a bit of a disaster, because the bundt pan I used was a flexible form, and when I flipped the pan inside out to more easily remove the cake…I severely dented the cake on one side.  Ahhhh!  I injured the monster!

lemon bundt crumpled

Now, why this recipe is a work in progress:

I needed to use up some sweetened condensed milk, and I didn’t want to make a dessert that was tooooo unhealthy (like fudge!), so I searched for some recipes.  I was making the dessert for a dinner with my boyfriend and his sister.  As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew it was the one.  My boyfriend’s sister loves lemon-flavoured desserts, and I could easily up the lemon flavour and lighten the recipe.

It does not look so terrible now, does it?
It does not look so terrible now, does it?

The result was a [monstrous] dense, lightly moist cake somewhat similar to a pound cake.  The high number of eggs also gave it a slight angel food cake taste (despite the inclusion of the egg yolks).  If you are confused by that description, I’m sorry.  My tastebuds were just as confused, but in a good way.  It was lightly sweet and satisfying without being overwhelming.  Next time, other than cutting the recipe in half, I will add more lemon juice.  As long as that doesn’t make it too moist, I would also up the yogurt.  Although the cake was a bit moist, a bit more would not have hurt any.

Mmm, much better.
Mmm, much better.

DSC04865

So am I going to be eating cake for the next two weeks?  Nope, because I sent my guests home with plenty of leftovers.  They were pretty willing.

The Recipe

Ingredients
2 14 oz cans sweetened condensed milk
6 eggs
1/2 c nonfat, plain yogurt
1/4 c lemon juice
2 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Servings: 20 slices

Heat the oven to 350oF.  In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sweetened condensed milk together until well mixed.  Whisk in the yogurt and lemon juice.  In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Slowly add the flour mixture to the egg mixture, and beat until completely combined.  Pour into a greased bundt pan and bake for approximately 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

I believe a strawberry compote would be unbelievably delicious drizzled over the top of this.
I believe a strawberry compote would be unbelievably delicious drizzled over the top of this.

bite of lemon bundt healthier cake

28 thoughts on “Disaster/Recipe in Progress: Lemon Bundt Cake

  1. I recently experienced 2 food fails this month, and I still blog them for the sake of not leaving out the shit I don’t want people to see. When you feel obliged to put yourself out there, that includes the food fails, so honestly i found this post to be very humorous and relatable. it doesn’t even look that bad, my raviolis were TERRIBLE hahaha. Anyhoo, thanks for checking out my latest post earlier which led me to your page. hope you have a happy hump day!

    1. First of all, thanks for checking Dinner of Herbs out! And yes, as I mentioned in my “About” page, one of my objectives with this blog is to be honest. Well, not every recipe I try is fabulous. Some are disasters, and some are simply mediocre. I felt the honest thing to do would be to include those too. Really, I think the posts with the best recipes are usually the most boring. Useful, but boring.

    1. I created it, anticipating it growing at a faster rate than any of my other categories–I have so far been pleasantly surprised to find that I haven’t had toooo many disasters yet…

    1. Oh my, that is unfortunate…at least your chickens were happy! 🙂

      I cannot think of any tips off the top of my head…A bundt cake is really like any other cake, just in a pretty pan. It is ironic, since they are usually supposed to be prettier cakes for a nice presentation…and mine turned out the opposite of a nice presentation. Ah, well.

  2. Love stories where things don’t go swimmingly the first time, but the baker/cook soldiers on and pulls off a win in the end. That’s how I roll (though the win doesn’t always come–haha) and it’s fun to see others do the same. Your cake looks tasty! Even in its puffed up and dented version, I bet it was delish.

    1. Oh, all pictures are of the same cake. I just took some pictures of slices from the non-dented side so I could get some nicer photos too. It was delicious, even though I think it needed some more lemon juice. I prefer a stronger lemon flavour. Next time!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

