Cheddar Edamame Quinoa Bake

Cheddar Edamame Quinoa Bake | Dinner of Herbs

I am honestly not sure why sharp or medium cheddar cheese are sold.

Mild cheddar is a joke, not even worth discussing.  Extra sharp cheddar cheese is the only way to go.  If an EXTREME extra sharp cheddar cheese were sold, I would buy it immediately.  I probably would not even be able to make it home before I ripped open the package to taste it.

So, when I saw this recipe for a cheddar cheese quinoa bake, I knew I had to try it.

So, it doesn't look so beautiful when you pull it out of the oven...but it is delicious, trust me.
So, it doesn’t look so beautiful when you pull it out of the oven…but it is delicious, trust me.

As usual, I cut the recipe in half–as much as I love extra sharp cheddar cheese, I don’t want to eat it for a week and a half.  I also decided to add some more dimension to the flavour by preparing the quinoa in vegetable broth rather than water, I added dijon mustard, and most importantly, I included edamame.

A full meal, with zucchini and a few olive oil and cracked pepper Aldi-brand Triscuits.
A complete meal, with zucchini and a few olive oil and cracked pepper Aldi-brand Triscuits.

Edamame is the best.  I was a little worried that it might lose its tender-yet-firm texture that I love so much when I baked it for a second time in the quinoa mixture.  Fortunately, that did not happen!  It was a perfect contrast to the softer, creamy, cheesy quinoa.

The Recipe

Ingredients

3/4 c quinoa

1 1/2 c vegetable broth

3/4 c extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

1/2 c 2% milk

1 egg

3/4 c edamame

1 Tbsp dijon mustard

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

pepper

1/4 c breadcrumbs

Servings: 5

Heat the oven to 350oF.  Rinse the quinoa, and then place in a pot with the vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil, and then simmer until all of the broth has been cooked off.  While the quinoa is cooking, bring another pot of water to a boil and add the edamame.  Boil for approximately 7-9 minutes.  Drain and rinse in cool water, and then shell the edamame.  In a bowl, combine the milk, cheese, egg, edamame, mustard, and seasonings.  When the quinoa is ready, add it to the bowl, and stir to combine.  Pour into a 9″x9″ pan, and top with breadcrumbs.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Enjoy!

Dinner is served!
Dinner is served!
34 thoughts on “Cheddar Edamame Quinoa Bake

  1. I tried cooking quinoa for the first time recently and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t tried it before. It’s so good. I always do it in vegetable broth over water. This recipe looks delicious. I’ll defiantly try it!

  2. Yep, definitely going to give this a try. I’m with ya on the cheddar thing, too. Sharp cheddar = the ONLY cheddar. Don’t waste precious space with that mild crap, if you ask me…

    1. I hope you like it! Yes, once my dad accidentally bought mild cheddar at the grocery…my whole family was quite disappointed in him. I think we made him eat it while we got some more extra sharp. 🙂

  3. This looks wonderful. I do love a sharp cheddar. But since I’m watching sodium, I’ll have to try it with other cheeses. Maybe I can compromise with 1/4 cup of the sharpest cheddar I can find and 1/2 cup of low-sodium Swiss or fresh mozzarella…

  4. I love how you shook things up a little with this, adding edamame. And lol that you are a Cheddar cheese snob 😉 I like them strongly flavored, too. What a fantastic way to slip whole grains into a meal!

  5. YUM! I eat quinoa almost every night for dinner and this is a great twist! I also agree with extra cheddar is the ONLY way to go when using cheddar. Thanks for sharing!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

