Yogurt Banana Bread

Yogurt Banana Bread | Dinner of Herbs

I went through a year or two where I made banana bread every other week.

I’m not sure how I got out of that habit, but I realized the other day that I had not made banana bread in months.  Months!  How scandalous!

This recipe has gone through lots of different twists and turns.  It started as a recipe straight out of a kid’s cookbook.  Let me tell you, the amount of sugar and oil was frightening.  Then, about two years ago, a friend told me about using applesauce in place of oil in brownies.  If it works for brownies, why not banana bread?

yogurt banana bread

Well, I tried that for awhile, but I just couldn’t get the texture quite right.  It was a little tough, and was slightly acidic flavoured.  I did not mind, but I was not enthusiastic about serving it to other people used to a super moist, super sweet, crumbly banana bread.

Here is the best recipe, to date.

The Recipe

Ingredients

3 1/2 ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 c sugar

3/4 c nonfat, plain yogurt

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 c white whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 c walnuts, chopped

Servings: 16

Heat oven to 325oF.  Combine the bananas, sugar, yogurt, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl and stir to combine.  In a smaller bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and chopped walnuts.  Fold dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Pour into a greased 9″x9″ pan, and bake for 55-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the pan comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

Is it weird if my favourite part is the top, when gets all moist and sticky?
Is it weird if my favourite part is the top, when gets all moist and sticky?
25 thoughts on “Yogurt Banana Bread

  1. Thank you for liking my post! This looks amazing– I’ll have to bake this ASAP. My dad loves bananas (I think it’s an addiction) so this will definitely be a hit. Love your blog! 🙂

    1. I hope you enjoy it! The Healthy Chef’s recipe looks delicious too, but I think I will stick with my recipe for now, since mine only uses ingredients I frequently have on hand. 🙂

    1. I hope you like it! I also love to sprinkle a little cocoa powder and throw a few walnuts over a frozen banana in a bowl, and eat it as a healthy but delicious dessert. 🙂

  2. Love the seemingly infinite variety of banana bread that’s out there. Yours looks good! Thinking there should be a blog community devoted solely to bbread :–)

      1. I’m glad you did! There can never be enough banana bread recipes. I’d bet I’ve never made the same recipe twice and I’m always looking for the next one to try. Now I have one 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

