Healthy Corncakes | Cornmeal Pancakes

Healthy Cornmeal Pancakes | Dinner of Herbs

My dad goes through phases.

Most are food-related.  He went through a phase where he added ridiculous amounts of onion to every dish.  Then he went through a cocoa powder phase.  There was also the more recent canola oil phase.  This included him spreading olive oil over toast, rather than butter.  {This one nearly killed me.  Soooo unhealthy and totally unnecessary.  I can stand occasional unhealthiness when done for the sake of great taste, but this was totally senseless and I highly doubt it tasted good.}  The most recent food fetish is vinegar.  My mom is convinced that he is trying to kill her…or at least give her an ulcer.

cooking cornmeal pancakes

Well, years ago, when I was still a wee tot, he went through a cornmeal pancake phase.  It was tasty and enjoyable, but my 8 year-old self did sometimes pine for the overprocessed, not-filling fluffy white pancakes from the mix.  Nevermind that I invariably had a stomachache half an hour after breakfast, that would dissolve immediately into starvation in another hour or two, I just wanted those sweet fluffy Aunt Jemima pancakes smothered in Mrs. Butterworth’s!

almost done! corncakes

As my last year of classroom schooling is drawing to a close, and I say goodbye to people I’ve spent my college life with, I’ve been feeling sentimental and nostalgic.  Not only am I essentially leaving college, I am realizing that I have very little time left at home also.  I miss those weekend mornings years ago that were filled with cornmeal pancakes, bacon, orange juice, family, and Bill Nye the Science Guy.

full meal

So, I made my own corncakes.  There was no family, Bill Nye, or orange juice (which I don’t enjoy anyway).  But I did have delicious cornmeal pancakes, and my boyfriend to share them with.  And now I will share them with you:

The Recipe

Ingredients

3/4 c yellow cornmeal

1/4 c white whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp sugar

1 egg

1 1/8 c 2% milk

1 Tbsp lemon juice

3 Tbsp nonfat, plain yogurt

Servings: 17.5 pancakes*

Heat a nonstick griddle to 350oF.  Sift together the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  In a larger bowl, combine the egg, milk, lemon juice, and yogurt.  Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Carefully spoon equal amounts of batter onto griddle.  When bubbles are forming even in the center of the pancake, and the edges look dry, flip the pancake to cook on both sides.  When golden brown on both sides, remove from the griddle.  Enjoy!

cornmeal pancakes

*I used two spoonfuls for each pancake, and the last pancake only used one spoonful: 1/2 a pancake!  The pancakes had a diameter of approximately 3-4 inches.

13 thoughts on “Healthy Corncakes | Cornmeal Pancakes

  1. Oh yum! You madam are a lady after my heart 😉 Cornmeal anything is great but in pancake form…can I get an amen! Oh, and I’m with you on the experimental dad side of things. Mine, much to my Mom’s dismay, used to mess around with facial hair?! He once shaved his head bowling ball smooth with a handlebar moustache for his brothers wedding. Oy… But the pictures are great! 😉

    1. Oh my, haha! I made my dad shave his mustache off many years ago when I was only 3 or 4 years old. I told him he couldn’t kiss me goodnight anymore because his mustache was too scratchy. The next morning, it was gone! And it never came back.

    1. Yeah, I am working my way through my own big bag of cornmeal. I needed a break from cornbread, and cornmeal-crusted chicken or fish doesn’t use nearly enough cornmeal. If you have any more uses, please share! 🙂

  2. lovely! I am so making those tomorrow 🙂 What great stories you have about your dad–love that he has food phases. Fun. The cocoa powder phase sounds promising–tell me more.

    1. Well, he didn’t add cocoa powder to odd things…he would just consume a lot of it. Rather than making some regular hot chocolate, he would just heat up water and mix in cocoa powder. I suppose it is much healthier than a creamy and sugary hot chocolate, but I can’t imagine it tasted very good. He would also go overboard on the amount of cocoa powder-to-water ratio, and come up with something that was quickly heading towards a “paste” rather than a “liquid”. This whole incident (like most of his food phases) was sparked by him hearing somewhere that cocoa powder is good for you.
      I hope you enjoy the corncakes! I thought the texture was fine, but if you are concerned about the grittiness of the cornmeal, I have heard of recipes that use water instead of milk, and they suggest boiling the water before adding the cornmeal. But like I said, I thought these were fine, sans boiling water.

      1. lol stories–seriously, you had me rolling. Dads are funny creatures for sure! But also pretty cool 🙂 Congrats to you as you wind down your college years. Exciting times.

        Oh, and I love grit so won’t change a thing with your recipe. I remember those Aunt Jemima Mrs. Butterworth days. Funny how tastes change.

  3. I think I can give you another Dad story! I have NO idea why, and I’m sure he didn’t read it ANYWHERE, but my Dad put butter on almost anything on his plate. Meat, bread, cookies! But the one that topped it all was GRAPE JELLY on Pizza! What? Seriously! But, I love the recipe. Will have to try that! Anytime I can use much less flour… I wonder how coconut meal or almond meal would do with the cornmeal…. Thanks!

  4. My grandson loves my corn cakes topped with wild grape syrup. If you ever get a chance to used freshly ground cornmeal, jump on it. There is such a difference, a sweet nuttiness that’s missing from store-bought.

    1. That sounds wonderful–I will keep that in mind. Now that I think about it, I think that is what started my dad’s corncake-making spree. I think we went on vacation and along the way we visited an old-fashioned mill that still made cornmeal and sold it.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

