Delicious Disaster: Ginger Coconut-Crusted Tilapia

Ginger Coconut-Crusted Tilapia | Dinner of Herbs

The presentation for this dish was a total disaster.

However, it tasted unbelievably delicious.

Usually tilapia holds together really well for me, but for some reason this particular fillet was falling apart faster than a hormonal preteen.  I was starting to think I was going to have to rename the recipe “Scrambled Coconut Tilapia”.  To add to the mess, the coconut seemed to be burning long before the fish was cooked through.

Before everything started falling apart...little did I know that this was a disaster waiting to happen.
Before everything started falling apart…little did I know that this was a disaster waiting to happen.

I am not sure what caused me to go ahead and attempt to eat this, but I am very glad I did.  The coconut flavour was amazing and did not taste burnt at all.  (If you have never had toasted coconut you are missing out.  Even if you do not like coconut, you should try toasted coconut.  It is like a different food.)  The fish was perfect with the coconut and faint taste of ginger.  Who cares that it was in a million pieces?  I mean, you are going to break it down into smaller pieces like that with your fork anyway, right?

The backdrop for this disaster, is another disaster: trying to study 1,000+ pages of notes for a final.  So glad that is over!
The backdrop for this disaster, is another disaster: trying to study 1,000+ pages of notes for a final. So glad that is over!  And those are vegetable potstickers in the back-NOT homemade.  Today.

Fortunately, this was only something I was cooking for myself, not for guests.  There are two reasons why this was so fortunate:

1) It was not very pretty.

2) It was so delicious, I might not have been able to bring myself to share it with others.

I hope you have better luck than me!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 tilapia fillet

1/8 c breadcrumbs

1/8 c coconut, shredded

1/2 tsp ground ginger

Serving: 1 fillet

Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat.  In a shallow dish, mix together the breadcrumbs, coconut, and ginger.  Dredge both sides of the tilapia in the breadcrumb mixture, and place in the pan.  With an oil mister, lightly oil both sides.  Cook on both sides for approximately 8-10 minutes, or until the fish is white and flaky all the way through.  Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Delicious Disaster: Ginger Coconut-Crusted Tilapia

  1. Ahaha, I so know what you mean. Sometimes the best dishes don’t look so… well…. pretty. But oh my gosh, I am trying to eat more fish and this is sounding so good right now!

  2. Love how simple that is–4 ing 🙂 And yes, toasted coconut–yum. You’re right in thinking the naming is about spin at this point. Tossed Toasted Coconut Tilapia (maybe not), Tilapia Hash, Cajun Coconut Tilapia. heehee.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

