Recipe in Progress: Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins

Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins | Dinner of Herbs

I have been craving chocolate even more than usual lately.

My mom and brother seem to be suffering from the same disease lately, so I am starting to wonder if it is a highly contagious communicable disease.  Fortunately, a cure was not too hard to find!

So they're not cherry blossoms, but crabapple blossoms were all I had.  Close enough!
So they’re not cherry blossoms, but crabapple blossoms were all I had. Close enough!

After rummaging around the freezer and pantry to scope out the potential ingredients, I discovered that we had some frozen cherries that we had never gotten around to using.

double dark chocolate cherry muffins healthy

I have to admit, as a child I claimed to hate cherries.  To be fair, I had only ever had cherries in pies.  The slimey, squishy texture was unbearable.  Many years later, I was very surprised to find that I not only liked, but greatly enjoyed, fresh black cherries.  I would eat them every day, if they were in season.  I learned two important things that day: 1) do not say you dislike a food based on one dish  2) when it comes to food, TEXTURE MATTERS.

2

These muffins avoid the slimey, squishy texture by being in a delightfully chocolate muffin with no oozy pie juices coating it.  Being in a baked good rather than a pie [wait, is a pie considered a ‘baked good’?] it finds the proper balance between being moist but not oozy.

Potential Improvements?

I would make a few slight changes to this recipe next time.  I would add just a little more sugar (maybe brown sugar?  dark brown sugar?) and work extra hard to make sure the cherries were fully thawed, and fully drained.  I think I did not do as thorough a job as I should have.  Consequently, when I checked to see if the muffins were done baking, I would inadvertently stick the toothpick through a cherry, and it would look like the muffins were not done yet.  This led to slightly over-done, dry muffins.  Still enjoyable, but there is still definitely room for improvement.  I might also play around with adding a second egg to the batter.  I believe it would help with the slight dryness and give them more of a fudge-like texture that I love so much.  With that in mind, here is the recipe that I started with:

The Recipe 

Ingredients

1/2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 c white whole wheat flour

3/4 c quick or old-fashioned oats

1/2 c cocoa powder

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 c sugar

3/4 c milk

1/2 c low-fat plain yogurt*

1 tsp vanilla extract*

1 egg

1/3 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 c frozen tart, unsweetened cherries, thawed and drained well

Servings: 16 muffins

Heat oven to 375oF.  In a food processor, combine flours, oats, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  Process until it forms a well-mixed powder.  Pour into a large bowl, and add milk, yogurt, vanilla, and egg.  Stir until well-combined.  Fold in chocolate chips and cherries.  Pour into lined muffin tins, and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

3

*For these, I only had vanilla yogurt, so I used it, and left out the vanilla extract.

end

23 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress: Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins

  1. Move over, boyfriend, I have a new lover. Helllooo, cupcakes! Not sure why, but in the past year, I have been addicted to cupcakes. Dang! How am I gonna lose weight when I am having an affair with Cake’s Mini-me?

    1. Thanks, I try to keep it honest. Besides, I need to leave honest notes, or else next time I go to make these, I will end up with the same slighty dry, slightly tough muffins.

  2. so pretty, and love that they have whole wheat flour and oats in them!!!! You mention crab apple blossoms–does that mean you have crab apples? You can have a lot of fun with those, too 🙂

    1. We will have some later in the summer (but unfortunately, I won’t be at home at the time). I have never used crabapples in anything…I think these may not be an edible variety. But if ours happen to be edible, do you have any recipe suggestions?

      1. crabapple vodka 🙂 no kidding–did that one year and though it took me from 7 p.m to 3 a.m. to get those derned apples cored and quartered, I mixed them with sugar and vodka and the result was so breathtakingly beautiful I can hardly stand it. Such a lovely and gorgeous berry jewel tone. I don’t drink it often as it’s too pretty to consume. More often I’d eat them out of hand–they’re like nature’s version of the sour candy kids seem to love.

  3. The chocolate disease must be airborne because it’s already made it’s way to Brooklyn with a vengeance. Flourless chocolate cake and truffles for dessert last night and I still want more. Love that you used yogurt instead of oil or butter for moisture. I’ve always gone more half and half (applesauce too) but will try to go all the way.

      1. But if a vaccine was made, would we really want to use it? I think I’d rather struggle with the disease… 🙂 Thanks for the yogurt/oil tip! I’m traveling this week and would hate to make the muffins and not finish them. Hopefully I can try them when I get back!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

