Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust | Dinner of Herbs

As a college student, I have failed to uphold many stereotypes.

The most relevant one to this post, is the fact that I only ordered pizza probably five times in five years.  As I enter my last year of rotations, I doubt anything is going to change.  It is not that I dislike pizza–quite the opposite!  I just prefer to make my own.

Vibrant vegetables.
Vibrant vegetables.

This was a my simple standard vegetable pizza recipe.  What makes it even easier, is that frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots all come in one bag!  I have to buy a separate bag of frozen spinach, but oh well.  I could use raw vegetables, but that means I have to buy more food, and all the extra washing, chopping, and dicing adds to the preparation time.  Fortunately, frozen food is just as healthy as fresh, unlike canned vegetables.

The Recipe

Ingredients

Crust

1 pkg yeast

2 tsp sugar

2 Tbsp water, lukewarm

1 c water

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 3/4 c white whole wheat flour

Sauce

8 oz tomato sauce

6 oz tomato paste

basil

oregano

garlic

onion

Toppings

broccoli, frozen

cauliflower, frozen

carrot, frozen

spinach, frozen

mozzarella, shredded

Servings: 8 slices

In a small microwaveable safe cup, warm the 2 tablespoons of water to a lukewarm temperature.  Add the sugar and yeast and let stand for approximately 5 minutes to proof and become foamy.  If the water is too hot, you will kill the yeast, and your dough will not rise.  In a separate bowl, combine the remaining cup of water, oil, and salt.  When the yeast is done proofing, add it to the bowl and stir.  Slowly begin adding the flour.  Do not add all the flour all at once, because you may not need all of it.  When the dough starts to become difficult to stir, use your hands to knead the dough.  Allow to rise for 1 hour in a warm place.

An hour later, heat the oven to 425oF.  Combine the tomato sauce, tomato paste, and seasonings in a small pot over medium-low heat on the stove.  Knead the dough a few more times with lightly oiled hands, then spread on an oiled baking sheet.  Bake for 5 minutes, then remove from oven.  Spread the tomato sauce evenly on the crust, then add other toppings.  Bake for 15 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.  Enjoy!

vege pizza on whole wheat crust healthier

18 thoughts on “Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

    1. I get them directly out of the freezer, toss them on the pizza, and stick the pizza in the oven. No prep necessary! The most you miiiight have to do is break the spinach up a little.

  1. That looks really good. I love pizza. Love that you made your own dough. I’ve been too scared to attempt that. Anytime I’ve made pizza, I just bought the dough already made.

    1. It really isn’t difficult–my family has been using this recipe (but white all-purpose flour instead of white whole wheat) for years, and my brother and I have been in charge of making it since we were about 7 years old. 🙂

  2. love that you put frozen veg on a (whole wheat) pizza crust. Brilliant and that same “out of the box” thinking I’ve seen time and again here at Dinner with Herbs. You do it your own way and it’s most always a smashing success! (and even when not, you spin it well 🙂 )

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

