Ground Beef Risotto

Ground Beef Risotto | Dinner of Herbs

Sometimes I try too hard to find a new recipe or come up with a new concoction.

I try new recipes all the time, and I enjoy most of them.  Some I enjoy too much.  So why do I rarely repeat recipes–aside from a select few?  I was struggling to come up with a meal plan for dinner the other night when I realized I had a huge collection of previous successful recipes.  Time to recycle!

skillet of ground beef risotto

Last summer I found this recipe.  I have been craving risotto lately, so it seemed perfect.  I barely made any changes, other than adding a can of great northern beans.  They fit in so wonderfully that it is hard to believe they are not a part of the original recipe.

What goes well with ground beef risotto?  Garden salad!
What goes well with ground beef risotto? Garden salad!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 lb lean ground beef

1 small onion

2 tsp garlic powder

dash pepper

1 c Arborio rice

2  14.5oz cans low-sodium beef broth

1 c water

2 medium carrots, julienned

1 can great northern beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 c parmesan cheese

Servings: 6-8 servings

Combine the ground beef, onion, pepper, and garlic powder in a skillet over medium heat.  Cook the hamburger until no pink remains.  Drain well, and stir in the rice and carrot.  Add the beef broth and water, and bring to a boil.  Once it is boiling, cover and reduce the heat to medium-low.  Allow to simmer for 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes, remove the lid and stir in the beans.  Continue simmering until the excess liquid has cooked off.  Add the parmesan cheese and stir.  Serve and enjoy!

Dinner is served.
Dinner is served.
15 thoughts on “Ground Beef Risotto

  1. oh man, you know how to do it up right. i do the same thing, only with pasta. nothing like some good old fashioned beef flavor.

    how do you feel about lamb? ukrainians make a dish called plov which is very similar to your risotto (only less saucy and far more garlicky). let me know if you are interested in a recipe.

    keep up the great work, love the aesthetics and writing style of your blog.

  2. I’m going to try this one tonight…I will do it the old-fashioned risotto way, by adding the hamburger at the end, and I might throw in some garden herbs too. Looks yummy!

    1. I hope you like it! Let me know what herbs you add, and how you liked it. I love using different herbs–I mean, the name of this blog does include the word “herbs” after all… 🙂

      1. I made a version of the risotto this weekend and just wrote about it (and mentioned your blog) this morning…it turned out wonderfully, and will be a new go-to recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

        1. Thanks for mentioning my blog, and I am glad you liked it! It still amazes me that every once in awhile, other people actually make my recipes! (Even if this recipe wasn’t completely original…but you know what I mean.) 🙂

  3. You’ve made a classy version of the hotdish/casserole! Love it 🙂 I’m with you on rarely making the same thing twice. Usually it’s just throwing together whatever is in the fridge. Good call on the eans.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

