Banana Souffle with Dark Chocolate

Banana Souffle with Dark Chocolate | Dinner of Herbs

The two secrets

to indulging in delicious desserts while not being ridiculously unhealthy are to make a terribly bland-but-healthy version or only eat a sliver of the original delicious version.
Not this time!

Filled to the brim--just like you will be, after eating these.  :-)
Filled to the brim–just like you will be, after eating these. 🙂

These banana souffles come out rather sizable and satisfying, yet have very few calories.  They even have a some nutritious elements from the banana!  For the first time, here at Dinner of Herbs, I actually made a recipe LESS healthy.  Yes, you read that right.  I do not plan on making it a trend, but I felt that this recipe screamed for some chocolate.  Dessert without chocolate is….senseless calories.  Dessert with chocolate is….necessary.  So I added some dark chocolate chips to the bottom of each ramekin before spooning in the souffle mixture.

banana souffles

I now want to make souffles in all sorts of flavours.  I think peach would be especially delicious and easy.  Raspberry, blackberry, cantaloupe, kiwi, strawberry….coconut….chocolate almond…..the options are countless.  I think I need to look into the science behind the souffle a little first, to make sure I don’t end up with a lot of sad, weird omelets on my hands.  Also, the next time I try this recipe, I will lightly butter the ramekins rather than spray them with cooking spray.  The cooking spray just pooled in the bottom of the ramekins and created an odd puddle that did not mix with the melty chocolate bottoms.

Poor quality picture, but I felt proof of the chocolate on the bottom was necessary.
Poor quality picture, but I felt proof of the chocolate on the bottom was necessary.

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 Tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp vanilla

4 egg whites

3 Tbsp powdered sugar

1/3 c dark chocolate chips

Servings: 4 generous souffles

Heat the oven to 450oF.  Place a large bowl and the beaters in the fridge to chill–this will help the egg whites form peaks!  Lightly butter four ramekins, place a fourth of the chocolate chips in the bottom of the ramekins, and then set aside on a small baking sheet.   Mash the banana in a smaller bowl, and mix in the lemon juice and vanilla.  In the chilled bowl, whip the egg whites until they form soft peaks.  Slowly add the powdered sugar and continue beating until the egg whites form stiff peaks.  Gently fold in the banana mixture.  Spoon the mixture into the ramekins.  The ramekins should be full all the way to the rim.  Place in the oven on the lowest rack to give the souffles room to rise.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the tops are evenly browned.  Serve immediately.  Enjoy!

tops of banana souffles

50 thoughts on “Banana Souffle with Dark Chocolate

  1. Looks wonderful! I’ve been a chef for 30 years but the perfect souffle eludes me to this day,this one may well be the one! great recipe,thanks.

  2. Thanks for liking some of my blog posts. I must say, this looks too good to be true and you’re absolutely right about chocolate – so worth the calories 🙂

  3. Thank you for liking my Tuna Cutlets post. I had to check out your blog and I like it very much. The pictures are beautiful. I will try out your banana soufflé recipe one of these days.

  4. “Dessert without chocolate is….senseless calories.” I am so giving that line to my mom to steal. She is a certified choco-holic. And these look divine by the way — so light and fluffy. I am also in love with those adorable ramekins. Too cute!

  5. I don’t know how I missed this post! I am definitely making this one because I was thinking what to do with some left over bananas that wasn’t banana bread. I’ve always made a Christmas Pudding souffle but I definitely need to give this a try. Looks lovely.

    1. Yes, before I had ever made a souffle, I thought they were notoriously difficult to master. Well, I think souffles have a bad reputation that they don’t deserve! So delicious, and simple! I want to make a plain chocolate one sometime too!

    1. Hmm, yes caramel drizzled on top, or even on the bottom in place of the dark chocolate could be very good indeed! I am more of a chocolate person than a caramel person, but have fun with the recipe. 🙂

  6. brilliant, Jenny! And further proof of your intuitive cooking style–you’re thinking ahead to what you would change etc. Those are so pretty and love that you can eat the WHOLE THING. Taking those slivers and small bites can get tiresome for sure. Oh, and adding that chocolate was a great move. You’re so good with your vegetables, healthy cooking, etc, that the chocolate does indeed become mandatory rather than optional 😉 Thanks for another great recipe.

    1. They didn’t rise as much as I expected, but they didn’t seem to fall, so I was very pleased. I also enjoyed being able to eat the whole thing without guilt…I suppose you coooould share it….but “sharing” and “chocolate” do not belong in the same sentence.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

