White Cheese and Spinach Tortillas

White Cheese and Spinach Tortillas | Dinner of Herbs

 

A simple, quick, and healthy recipe is great.

A simple, quick, and even healthier recipe is perfect.

I found a recipe (that I lost the link to!) that consisted of feta, mozzarella, and spinach in between two tortillas.  I upped the spinach to cheese ratio, and removed the step that involved buttering the tortillas.  Also, to make things a little more convenient for myself, I used frozen spinach rather than fresh.  You have to wilt the fresh spinach anyway, and this way I didn’t have to wash or chop any spinach!

I doubled the recipe to make enough for my parents, brother, and me.
I doubled the recipe to make enough for my parents, brother, and me.

A small garden salad and Twice-Baked Spicy Mashed Sweet Potatoes completed this meal.  I will be posting the recipe for the sweet potatoes next time…be patient!

again

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 c mozzarella, shredded

1/4 lb chopped spinach, frozen

1 tsp parsley

1/2 tsp dill

1 Tbsp feta, crumbled

2 whole wheat tortillas

Servings: 2

Heat a skillet over medium heat, and add the frozen spinach.  Cook until the spinach is completely thawed and the excess water has cooked off.  Place the spinach in a bowl, and stir in the parsley, dill, and feta cheese.  Place a tortilla in the pan over medium-low heat, and sprinkle a little mozzarella evenly around the tortilla.  Spoon half of the spinach mixture on top of the mozzarella, and spread evenly.  Sprinkle a second layer of mozzarella over the spinach mixture, and top with a second tortilla.  Once the cheese on the bottom has melted, carefully flip the tortilla over (you will probably need to use your hand to help steady or hold together the tortilla).  Brown on both sides, and serve immediately.  Enjoy!

close up tortilla meal

13 thoughts on “White Cheese and Spinach Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Homepage
  2. My girls love tortillas. Great idea to add spinach in them. Will have to try that next time. Thanks for sharing.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

