Twice-Baked Spicy Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Twice-Baked Spicy Mashed Sweet Potatoes | Dinner of Herbs

For a few years now,

a fairly popular meal with my family consisted of baked salmon with a mustard sauce and spicy roasted sweet potato.

I love the spicy sweet potatoes, but they take forever to reach the desired tenderness.  Even worse, when the recipe is left to my dad, the sweet potatoes are floating on a lake of oil.  Ok, slight exaggeration…but only slight.  [Do sweet potatoes float on oil anyway?]

To make this recipe really easy, just make the mashed potatoes.  Skip the twice-baked step, because it is totally unnecessary.  I only added it because I felt like making the recipe a little fancier, for those of you who are concerned with presentation.  Besides, ramekins are fun.  Even the word “ramekins” itself is fun!  The twice-baked step does provide a pleasing crust on the top of the potatoes, in case you were wondering.

I was not patient enough to leave these in the oven long enough...the tops should really be a lot more browned.
I was not patient enough to leave these in the oven long enough…the tops should really be a lot more browned.

I did not include amounts on the spices because you really need to play around with the recipe and taste-test it to find your desired level of spiciness.  Some people can barely handle any chili powder, and others prefer their sweet potatoes to have the ability to burn through asbestos.  [Different kind of ‘burn’, I know, I know.]  To each their own.

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and diced

2 tsp olive oil

chili powder

cayenne

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

paprika

Servings: 4-6

Heat the oven to 400oF.  Bring a pot of water to a boil over high heat on the stove.  Add the diced sweet potato to the boiling water, and boil until soft, or about 10-15 minutes.  Drain the sweet potato, and mash thoroughly.  Mix in the seasonings and olive oil, then spoon into ramekins.  Place ramekins on a baking sheet, and place in oven.  Bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until the tops are slightly browned.  Enjoy!

wide
Sprinkle the tops with paprika after cooking, to add to the presentation!
30 thoughts on “Twice-Baked Spicy Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  1. Ramekin, ramekin, ramekin! Love it! I am terrible at cooking with and without detailed instructions is there a low ball starting point you could give me to measure out the spices since I can always add more but I can’t take it out …

    1. To start out cautiously with the spices, I would suggest:
      1/4 tsp chili powder

      1/4 tsp cayenne

      1/2 tsp garlic powder

      1/2 tsp onion powder

      1/2 tsp salt

      1/4 tsp paprika

      The cayenne and the chili powder are really what gives this heat. Salt, you can always add more at the table, to suit your preferences.

  2. oh man, i love that photo. i always tend to go savory with my sweet potatoes, but i gotta give this a try.

    how do you feel about heavy cream? i tend to always use it in my sweet potato mashes, but i don’t know if it would undo the spiciness you worked so hard to achieve.

    1. Hm. I think it would dilute the spiciness. Really, I think the olive oil gives it a sort of creaminess, but in a way that supports the spiciness, rather than fights it, like the heavy cream might. I would try the olive oil, but maybe increase the amount from what I used, since you are used to using heavy cream. Let me know how it goes!

  3. It’s such a coincidence because one of my favourite dishes right now is Salmon with a side of spicy sweet potato. I LOVE sweet potato! This dish looks scrumptious and so easy to make! Thanks 🙂

    1. I’ve been craving salmon lately, which seems a bit odd to me. Craving chocolate is one thing, but craving salmon? Too bad it’s so pricey. Luckily, sweet potatoes are pretty cheap, so I will just eat spicy sweet potatoes to my heart’s content. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  4. beautiful, Jenny! And yes, ramekin is fun to say 🙂 Your dishes are always fun to see, too. Was your dad the one with the cooking phases? Was food floating in oil ever one of them?

    1. Yes, that’s my dad. And oh-my-goodness-YES. His current phase is adding waaaay too much oil (or other unnecessary and unhealthy ingredient) to things. I almost had a heart attack just from walking in on him preparing some potato salad for our Memorial Day cookout. If there is a mayonnaise shortage soon, you will know the reason: my dad used up the last of it in our potato salad. I was quite glad I had already made a second avocado-lime-cilantro potato salad. 🙂

  5. I love sweet potatoes, and with garlic, onion and paprika yum. I am sure it tastes really good. Thanks for stopping by. Have a pleasant day!!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

