Matcha Bundt Cake

Matcha Bundt Cake | Dinner of Herbs

Bundts do not like me.

But I still love them!

This time I used the [expensive!] matcha green tea powder that my family had purchased recently at an Asian market to make a matcha bundt cake.  The last time I made a bundt cake, I made waaaaay too much batter, and a monstrous bundt cake resulted.  This time, I was at home, and did not have access to a complete bundt pan.  I found a mysterious bakeware piece that resembled half of a bundt pan.  It seemed to fit in a springform pan we had, so I wedged them together and hoped that the batter would not leak through the pan.

Make-shift bundt pan!  I am resourceful, if nothing else.
Make-shift bundt pan! I am resourceful, if nothing else.

It worked!  It’s not a very pretty bundt, but it isn’t as boring as it could have been.

After I settle the bakeware issues, I needed to figure out the recipe.  I was tempted by the chocolate and matcha marbled bundt recipe that seemed to be everywhere on Pinterest, but as much as I love chocolate, I wanted to be able to taste the matcha.  I am very glad I stuck with the pure matcha version, because it was wonderful.  Despite replacing half of the butter with non-fat yogurt and reducing the sugar, this cake was very sweet, flavourful, light, and moist.  I sprinkled it with a little powdered sugar, purely for presentation purposes.

matcha bundt slice and cake

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/2 c all-purpose flour

1 1/2 Tbsp matcha

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 c margarine

3/4 c sugar

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 c non-fat, plain yogurt

2 eggs

Servings: 8 slices

Heat oven to 325oF. Lightly grease a 6- or 8-cup bundt pan.  In a large bowl, cream margarine, sugar, vanilla, yogurt, and eggs together.  In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and matcha powder.  Combine the ingredients in the larger bowl and stir together.  Pour into bundt pan evenly, and bake for 30-35 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Allow to cool in pan for approximately 7 minutes, then loosen sides with a knife, and flip out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

matcha bundt - above matcha bundt slice

33 thoughts on “Matcha Bundt Cake

    1. I had only heard of it recently, but I was interested in trying it. This recipe was pretty simple–I bet you wouldn’t have any trouble with it. Good luck, if you decide to attempt it!

  1. This looks great! I haven’t done any baking for a while but I have some matcha so I might make! Do you know the nutritional content by any chance?

          1. Thank you ever so much for that – you really didn’t have to. But I am quite surprised at how low cal this cake is! Will definitely be making this now!!

            Much appreciated!

    1. Matcha is green tea powder. I am honestly not sure what the difference is between it and green tea found in a green tea bag, but matcha is made for baking. I had only heard of it recently. It made a very delicious cake!

  2. what a pretty cake and I have been so intrigued by matcha. Where to buy? And wow on the pan–where did you find that? already in a cupboard? Am a big fan of Bundts–trickiest part is coating pan well enough with spray (or shortening/butter/oil) and flour so cake comes out cleanly. Measure your cake pan capacity with water so you know exactly how many cups it holds. Never want to fill a cake pan more than 2/3-full, though you already know that I’m sure 🙂 I always enjoy your adventures.

    1. I got mine at One World Market (not to be confused with World Market), which is supposedly an Asian market. Really, 98% of everything is Japanese. I am not sure where else it would be available, other than online.
      I actually did use the water method to measure my makeshift bundt! I was glad it worked out for me this time.

  3. We must be of the same mind…I just made a similar recipe yesterday (seriously!) from Southern Living for a green tea bundt cake with a honeysuckle glaze. The only reason I didn’t blog about it was because I bought what I thought was matcha powder, and turns out it wasn’t, so it wasn’t the vibrant green like the recipe. But the flavor is awesome. I ordered matcha powder online and will make another attempt soon!

    1. I got my matcha powder from an Asian market store. Everything on the package was written in Japanese, but luckily my brother knows enough Japanese that he was able to figure out that it was matcha powder. It’s funny that we keep making the same thing!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

