Delicious Disaster: Clumpy Sweet Potato Bruschetta Soup

Sweet Potato Bruschetta Soup | Dinner of Herbs

Read the instructions fully before beginning a recipe.

No, skimming the recipe is not enough–you must painstakingly read each and every word while closely paying attention.

I did not do this, and I messed up this recipe and made a sad, clumpy soup.  It could have been perfect, but I missed the part about using the parmesan as a topping only, rather than adding it into the soup while it was cooking.  Parmesan cheese does not like to melt evenly and smoothly, it seems.  It half-melted and re-formed as tough, stringy lumps that adhered to everything in the soup: the tomatoes, the chicken pieces, and mostly the spoon I was using to stir the soup.  Ahhhhh!

Roasted sweet potatoes, patiently waiting their turn.
Roasted sweet potatoes, patiently waiting their turn.
Mozzarella cheese...because I was bored and playing with my camera.
Mozzarella cheese…because I was bored and playing with my camera.

Otherwise, the soup tasted delicious!  This means a lot, coming from me, because I am not generally a fan of soups.  My use of non-fat, plain yogurt instead of sour cream worked very well and lightened the recipe a little more.  I also included the spices/herbs that I used, rather than using an Italian herb mix.  My favourite part of finding this recipe, is that I learned a new technique for adding potatoes to soup.  I usually just add diced potatoes and let them boil until they are soft.  There is something very comforting about the resulting mushiness that is potato soup, but sometimes you just are not in the mood for mush.  Roasting the sweet potato brought out its flavour, and prevented all mushiness.  I will definitely be using this method in the future!

cooking sweet potato bruschetta soup

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins

basil

oregano

parsley

cilantro

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

pepper

2 beefsteak tomatoes, diced

1/2 c mozzarella cheese, shredded

1 14 oz can low-sodium chicken broth

1/2 c non-fat, plain yogurt

parmesan cheese, grated

Servings: 8 servings

Heat oven to 425oF.  Peel and dice the sweet potato.  Toss the sweet potato with a little olive oil and salt and spread evenly on a baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until the sweet potato begins to lightly brown on the edges.  While the sweet potato is cooking, cook the chicken and herbs.  When the chicken is done cooking, slice it into bite-sized pieces.  Transfer the chicken to a soup pot and add the diced tomatoes, and chicken broth.  When the tomatoes are slightly softened, add the mozzarella cheese and yogurt and stir well.  Add the sweet potatoes at the last minute.  Serve with a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top, if desired.  Enjoy!

Delicious...despite the clumpiness.
Delicious…despite the clumpiness.
17 thoughts on “Delicious Disaster: Clumpy Sweet Potato Bruschetta Soup

  1. We’ve all been there. I’ve never been an instructions girl, whether its cooking or putting together furniture, so can certainly relate. I try to slow down and read but get impatient. Even with the mishap, still looks great though!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

