Basic Baked Falafel

Basic Baked Falafel | Dinner of Herbs

This almost should not be a post.

Some recipes are so basic that they [almost] should not be blogged about.  Sort of like my granola recipe.  Hey, maybe one day I will have the bright idea to post a recipe for the classic grilled cheese sandwich!  [In case you were wondering, a proper American grilled cheese consists of 2 slices of Sunbeam white bread slathered in Country Crock margarine, encasing 1 to 2 slices of Kraft American cheese Singles.]

This post is more about my curiosity and interest in trying new foods.  I have heard of falafel of course, and I knew that it is generally eaten in a pita or on a salad.  Well, you had me at the word “pita”.  Falafel are often deep-fried, but I had seen many variations that were baked.  Anyone who has any idea of my feelings* towards deep-fried foods can easily surmise that I went for the baked falafel version.

Here is a very basic, uninventive recipe that can be built upon.

Can you see my failed pocketless pitas under the falafel?
Can you see my failed pocketless pitas under the falafel?

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/4 c whole wheat flour

cumin

garlic powder

onion powder

parsley

salt

pepper

1 tsp lemon juice

Servings: 4

Heat oven to 400oF.  Combine all ingredients in a food processor, and process until smooth.  For the mixture into small spheres and place on a baking sheet**.  Flatten each one slightly, then bake for 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

*I have a love-hate-hate- relationship with deep-fried foods.  They can be so tasty…and so nastily greasy…and so unhealthy…

**I actually scooped small amounts of mixture with my spoon against the inside of the food processor bowl.  Then I slid the falafel off the spoon and onto the baking sheet.  It is hard to explain, but it made it easier to make more uniformly sized falafel.

36 thoughts on “Basic Baked Falafel

  1. Over here in Jerusalem we put tahini sauce on our falafel. Also we put hummous, umbar, and “spicy”, then a ton of salads like tomatoes, cucumbers, pickles, vinegar cole slaw, etc.

    1. Tahini sauce sounds like a wonderful topping! I am a bit confused about the hummus, though. Isn’t it made from the same thing as the falafel: chickpeas? Wouldn’t it be a little redundant? Anyway, I have never heard of umbar, so thank you for introducing it to me!

      1. Yes, it is redundant. People also get hummous for breakfast, and with it comes vegetables and falafel, which you are meant to dip in the hummous. Sounds silly but it works!

  2. Pingback: My Homepage
  3. As someone who has never made falafel before, I LOVE this post. I never knew it was this easy! It’s pretty much taking all of my will power to not go and grab the nearest can of chickpeas (err at 9 in the morning)

  4. Looks fantastic! I’ll be honest, I don’t know that I’ve ever even eaten falafel. I’ll put this on my to-eat and to-make lists.

  5. I love falafel but generally stay away from it because of the oil that drips out of it with every bite I take! Great idea on baking them! Now I can perhaps enjoy falafel every now and then!

    1. These are definitely not oozing oil…in fact, they are in need of a little dressing or something. My family used a little sour cream on their pita/salad/falafel, while I used a dash of ranch dressing (I hate sour cream!), and it was just perfect.

  6. What in the world is Falafel? is it sugary? salty or what? Or is it the thing my sister used to fry in oil and my kids talked about it. They called it Far-Far. Is it the same thing?

    1. I do not have any experience with chickpea flour, but I would guess that you could probably omit the whole wheat flour, and would needs to add a tiny amount of liquid. Now I wish I had taken a picture of the processed falafel mixture before I baked it, so you could see how crumbly it should be. Basically, I would mix the seasonings, chickpea flour, and lemon juice together. Then I would add 2 tsp water. Process. See if you can manage to form it into a ball. If not, add a tiny bit more water. This mixture should be fairly dry and crumbly! Good luck, and let me know how it goes!

  7. I love falafels and can’t wait to try this. I make hummus on a regular basis as a snack and I’m surprised how similar the ingredients are! (just substitute the whole wheat flour with tahini and add olive oil. No baking necessary). Thanks for the recipe!

    1. I hope you like them! Just do give them a little chance to cool once coming out of the oven, or you might burn your mouth! And then you wouldn’t be able to taste them as well, and that would be a tragedy!

  8. It’s nice to see a baked version of these. I have to tell you, I feel similar regarding fried foods but here’s the deal. Many people in America just don’t know how to cook fried foods. Take fried calamari for example….many restaurants in America serve it as an appetizer and it comes out so fried you can’t even see the calamari! Being an Italian and visited Sicily, I can tell you this is not at all how it is prepared and served there. It comes out with a very light fry in Sicily and is one of the most delicious foods you’ve ever tasted! So before you totally rule out fried foods, give some a try in countries and places where they know how to cook it.

    1. Oh I am definitely not ruling out all fried foods; I am just trying to cut back and avoid them as much as possible. If I ever do get the chance to go to Italy, I will take your advice and tried some fried foods. 🙂

  9. I know what you mean about the simple recipes–I love them… but sometimes I downright embarrassed to tell people how little effort goes into some of my favorite foods! I console myself by remembering that I start with good ingredients.

    Can’t wait to try this. I love anything with chickpeas!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

