Almond Banana Oat Bars

Almond Banana Oat Bars | Dinner of Herbs

Unexpectedly not having ingredients can be frustrating.

But sometimes it can lead to creating a wonderful new recipe!

Just this morning I was reading a blog post by someone who had baked a variation of banana bread, because she had found over-ripe bananas on clearance at the grocery.  I was surprised because I have never seen produce on clearance; sure, I see surplus bakery items on clearance racks, but that is about it.  Well, what do you think I found later that day when I did my grocery shopping?

Oh yes, uber-cheap mushy brown bananas!

I have made this recipe several times in the past year or so, and it seemed like the perfect way to use some bananas that were seconds away from liquefying spontaneously.  I did not have plain yogurt, so I used a little almond milk instead.  When it came time to add the vanilla, I opened the cabinet to pull out the vanilla….and realized I had used up the last of it awhile ago.  I did have almond extract though…and I had just bought some oven-roasted almonds on the same grocery trip that led to my overripe banana purchase.  Might as well stick with the trend!

close up of almond banana oat chocolate bars

The Recipe

Ingredients

3/8 c white whole wheat flour

1 c old-fashioned oats

3/4 c Rice Krispies

1/8 tsp salt

nutmeg

cinnamon

1 1/2 bananas, mashed

1/8 c honey

1/8 c almond milk

1/8 c creamy peanut butter*

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/2 Baker’s bittersweet chocolate square, finely chopped

1/4 c almonds, unsalted and dry-roasted

Servings: 9 bars

Heat oven to 350oF.  Grease a 9″x9″ pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, mash the ripe bananas and add the honey, almond milk, peanut butter, and almond extract.  In a smaller bowl, sift together the flour, oats, Rice Krispies, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.  Combine the wet and dry ingredients in the large bowl and stir well.  Fold in the almonds and chocolate.  Spread evenly in the greased pan, and bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until it has begun to brown.  Allow to cool, then slice into 9 even pieces.  Enjoy!

Look at those lovely almonds....mmmm...
Look at those lovely almonds….mmmm…

*I would have used almond butter if I had almond butter…and if I had known at that point of the recipe that I would be turning these into almond bars.

30 thoughts on “Almond Banana Oat Bars

  1. Pingback: Find Your Niche
  2. Pingback: zonnepanelen
  3. Pingback: URL
  4. These sound good. And yes! I too have had the same situation where I didn’t have the ingredient the recipe usually calls for so I’ve added/used something else and it has come out good. Yay!

  5. woo hoo! That looks great, Jenny, and I like how you adjusted as you went along per your pantry. Irony is I’m out of brown bananas now so will have to wait on making those amazing bars. Next you’ll have to read a blog about someone finding a million bucks 😉

    1. Well, that is part of why I like this recipe so much–it is one where you can just start throwing in anything (pistachios, chocolate chips, chopped dates, m&ms, pumpkin seeds, etc) and it will still turn out great.
      How about I read about YOU finding a million dollars? 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

