Basil-Dill Egg Muffins

Basil-Dill Egg Muffins

I have never been a procrastinator.

However, I believe my planning and working ahead has reached a whole new level.  I have now made breakfast the night before.  No, I am not talking about prepping some french toast casserole bake the night before to pop in the oven the next morning, or something.   (Fortunately, I am also NOT talking about pouring some milk over a bowl of cereal the night before, for those of you who were concerned and grossed out.)

above pan egg muffins

I do not believe I should be worried that my anti-procrastination is developing into an obsession.  In this case, I have several reasons for making breakfast the night before.  One, I hate cooking in the morning.  I have zero patience in the morning before I have eaten.  No one should even consider speaking to me until after I have eaten.  The faster I can get breakfast, the better.  Two, I am trying to eat less bread, pasta, and grains.  Well, this wipes out my go-to breakfasts of cereal, oatmeal, or a bagel.  I have been drinking (eating?) fruit smoothies for the last few days, but I need something to go with it.  Something that I can actually chew, so I feel like I have eaten something.

herby egg muffins breakfast

Enter the omelet-inspired egg muffin.  Problem solved!  It’s easy to make a big batch the night before, and be set for several days.  I used Skinnytaste’s recipe as a guide.  For the first time, I stuck pretty close to the recipe, but now that I know it has worked, I will probably change up the additives some more.  I also added a lot more herbs to my egg muffins, because I love herbs.  Basil and egg were meant to be together.  Their relationship must be a secret one, because I do not think many people seem to know how wonderful they are together.  Well, the secret is out now!

The Recipe

Ingredients

6 eggs

3/4 c almond milk

2/3 c chopped broccoli, steamed

1/3 c spinach, chopped

1 oz mozzarella, shredded

salt

pepper

garlic powder

onion powder

basil

dill

Servings: 12 cups

Heat oven to 350oF.  In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, almond milk, and seasonings.  Add the cheese, broccoli, and spinach, and mix together.  Divide evenly among 12 greased muffin cups.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until baked through and the edges are lightly browned.  Enjoy!

pan egg muffins spinach broccoli above egg muffins

44 thoughts on “Basil-Dill Egg Muffins

  1. Just tried these this morning – Delicious! I thought I might have been overdoing it on the seasonings/herbs, but it was perfect. You’re right about the basil and egg thing! 🙂 Since they were so low in calories, I actually doubled the cheese…ahem…which didn’t add that many more, and it was great! The only bad part was waiting for them to come out of the oven because they smelled heavenly. I’ll be making these again. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for the recipe: I made them with onion and lots of spinach. Easy done and they tasted great! And since I am always on the look out for (gluten-free) snacks to bring along whilst hiking: the muffins are cold still very tasty. Definitely a keeper in my recipe book! Johanna

    1. I like how many different options there are for these: ham + cheese egg muffins, spinach + green pepper egg muffins, sausage + broccoli egg muffins….I could go on and on. If you decide to try them, I hope you like them!

  3. Oooh yum! I bought ingredients for the spinach & feta/mozzarella wheat tortilla that I’ll try this week. I’ll be trying this next!

    1. Ooo, I hope you like the tortillas! Just a tip: taste-test the spinach feta mixture before you form the tortillas. This way you can make sure you have the correct proportion of ingredients that tastes good to you. (In other words, some might like less spinach, or more dill, or whatever.) These eggs would be a great way to use up leftover spinach! Just be sure to thaw and drain the spinach if you are using frozen spinach, or else your eggs might not cook as well.

  4. Yes! I used to make a bunch of egg and cheese sandwiches on English muffins and freeze them for convenience sake. I too hate mornings. This is a much better, fresher and probably healthier alternative. Thx!

    1. Yes! I have made two more versions of these where I omitted the cheese, and it is even fewer calories. One combination was spinach + green pepper, and the current one is spinach + fresh tomato. (I guess I like spinach, haha.)

  5. Wow they look delicious and very easy to make too !I have just found your blog after a recommendation from my friend Paul,he said your blog was great and he’s right.Cheers,Nigelinoz

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

