Balsamic Cinnamon Peach Pork Chops

Balsamic Cinnamon Peach Pork Chops | Dinner of Herbs

Peaches!

Yes, I think that is all the introduction this recipe needs.

While I am still hoping to make a peach souffle similar to my Banana Souffles, I had some pork chops that I wanted to do something interesting with.  But if peaches are already on sale, hopefully I can get some more peaches soon to make peach souffles!

DSC05288

Ok, enough about souffles.  Here is a recipe that is a bit more substantial.  This is the first time that I have cooked a meat other than chicken, ground beef, or ground turkey.  (Or tilapia, if you are counting seafood.)  I am far from a vegetarian, but meat is often more expensive, and huge cuts of meat are kind of intimidating.  Cooking only for myself (and occasionally my boyfriend), a 5 pound roast just does not seem practical.  I feel I should also mention that freezer space is limited, so freezing leftovers is not always an option either.

peaches

However, pre-sliced pork loin seemed manageable.  I prepared half of the pork using this recipe, and I prepared the rest with a simple barbeque sauce in the oven.  (If I am going to be eating pork for 5-7 days straight, I would like a little variety!)  The peach glaze may not be the most attractive, but the flavours are amazing and soothing.  The lightly sweet peach glaze perfectly complements the slightly salty flavour of the pork.  Filling, yet still summery. Enjoy.

DSC05286

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 lb pork*

1 ripe peach, diced

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash salt

Servings: 3

With a meat tenderizer**, pound the pork cutlets out evenly until they are approximately 1/2 inch thick.  Place the pork in a skillet that has been preheated over medium heat.  Brown on both sides, and allow to cook uncovered until cooked through and no pink in the center remains.  While the pork is cooking, in a separate bowl dice a peach into small pieces.  I left the skin on the peach, but you can peel it first, if you so desire.  Drizzle the balsamic vinegar and lemon juice over the peaches, and sprinkle the ginger, cinnamon, and salt over top.  Mash the peach with the back of a fork, and mix in the liquids and spices.  When the pork has cooked through, reduce the heat to medium-low and pour the peach mixture over the pork.  Turn the pork to coat both sides with the peach mixture.  At first, the mixture will become very watery, but allow it to continue cooking and reducing until the mixture is thick and slightly brown.  This will take approximately 10-15 minutes.  Remove from the heat, serve, and enjoy!

DSC05289

*I used boneless loin, country style pork ribs, and I trimmed the fat off before pounding it out and cooking it.

**My meat tenderizer was actually the sturdy, heavy handle of a pizza cutter.  Don’t judge.

27 thoughts on “Balsamic Cinnamon Peach Pork Chops

  1. yes to summery! nice use for peaches–they seem to go with pork chops quite well. Am not normally a fruit-with-meat person, but the balsamic and cinnamon pull it together very well. Great meal 🙂

  2. I am not a fan of peaches. But my husband is. And most people are. We love pork. This sounds yummy and fancy . . . . a nice dinner for company. I am going to try it next time we get pork and peaches! Thanks.

    1. I did not know that people who dislike peaches existed! It’s such a juicy, sweet, unassuming fruit! 🙂 Ah, well, I hope this recipe helps you to enjoy peaches. Truthfully, this recipe is not overly peach-flavoured, so you will probably be fine. You can easily concentrate on the balsamic and cinnamon flavours.

      1. **Waving!** Hello, from over here in California. I don’t like peaches. :-). I can handle them but I don’t care for them, like a nectarine. And I think this recipe is perfect. I think it probaly has just enough peach! 🙂

    1. Oh, I am sorry for tempting you with this…no one should be put through that kind of torture! Just as a heads-up…I plan on making peach souffles (like my Banana Souffles with Dark Chocolate that I posted a few weeks ago) tomorrow evening. So watch out for that post. You might not want to see it. 🙂

    1. Oh, I am always so on-trend and current that I don’t need to know what people just bought or have in their pantries…ha! Seriously though, I love that coincidence! I hope you like the recipe.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

