Easy Mini White Chocolate-Blueberry Puffins

Mini White Chocolate-Blueberry Puffins

I hate wasting food about as much as I love making healthier foods.

The dilemma comes when I am facing wasting unhealthy food.  Decisions, decisions.

cooling, white choc blueberry puffins

I had some blueberries that were going to go bad, a tiny bit of pancake mix that had been around for too long, and some white chocolate chips I need to use up.  I really don’t like white chocolate, so this half of a bag may last awhile.  ~sigh~

above blueberry puffins

My brilliant solution was to make easy, not-so-healthy, white chocolate blueberry muffins.  To use up the pancake mix, they became puffins.  Mini puffins, to be exact.

No, not this kind of puffin.
No, not this kind of puffin.

I considered calling them panuffins (pronunciation: pah-NUFF-ins) to incorporate more of the word “pancake”, but “puffins” sounds cuter.

mini puffins, level

These could be used as a breakfast-on-the-go, since the white chocolate chips eliminate the need for syrup, but I prefer to think of them as dessert.  However, I believe I will keep this idea for the future.  I will most likely make a healthier pancake batter from scratch (I’m thinking white whole wheat flour, little-to-no sugar, maybe oats) and omitting the white chocolate.  They will still differ from muffins slightly, in that pancake batter has a lot more liquid in it, and therefore has a different texture than muffins.

This pic is so short and wide...that it looks like a movie when they try to make it dramatic by putting the black border on top and bottom of the screen.  DRAMATIC PUFFINS.
This pic is so short and wide…that it looks like a movie when they try to make it dramatic by putting the black border on top and bottom of the screen. DRAMATIC PUFFINS.–Wait, WordPress changed the format.  Nevermind.

final

Oh, and the best way to solve the waste-or-eat-unhealthy-food dilemma?  Eat only a little of the unhealthy food, then give away the rest.  🙂  Sneaky, are I not?  This is just one of the many advantages of having a boyfriend.

The Recipe

Ingredients

2/3 c pancake mix*

1/2 c water

1/8 tsp almond extract

blueberries, fresh

white chocolate chips

Servings: 12 mini muffins

Heat oven to 325oF.  In a small bowl, combine pancake mix, water, and almond extract.  Stir well, then fold in blueberries and white chocolate chips.  Spoon equally into 12 greased mini muffin cups.  Bake for approximately 15-20 minutes, or until the tops do not remain dented when you gently place your finger on them.  The puffins will still be very pale.  Remove from muffin pan as soon as possible and place on a cooling rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

white chocolate blueberry puffins

*I used a pancake mix that only needed water added.  You can easily make your own pancake mix from scratch to make this a little healthier, but a little more time-consuming.

35 thoughts on “Easy Mini White Chocolate-Blueberry Puffins

  1. Pingback: My Homepage
    1. Yeah…I am not sure why, but I just cannot bring myself to like white chocolate. Maybe because it is not truly chocolate at all, and I don’t like to be lied to, even by my food.

    1. Thanks! I think I actually had more fun photographing these than baking them! That’s saying something, since I love to bake and usually struggle with the photography portion of food blogging. They are very photogenic little puffins.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

