Green Chili Turkey Tacos

Green Chili Turkey Tacos

I actually did not feel like eating dinner tonight.

It is extremely rare for me to not feel hungry at mealtime, and it is even more rare to not feel like eating.  [Yeah, I usually feel like eating even when I am not hungry–it’s a problem.]  However, since I already had a simple dinner planned, and I knew I would be starving at bedtime if I did not eat dinner, I forged ahead.

Step I: Add the turkey-bean-chili mixture to your tortilla.
Step I: Add the turkey-bean-chili mixture to your tortilla.

Green Chili Turkey Tacos | Dinner of Herbs
What was the meal plan?  How kind of you to ask.  It was simple turkey tacos.  To add a little interest, I added a small can of mild green chilies, which I have never eaten before, and use up some leftover great northern beans from my Pesto Artichoke Pizza that I had made just two days before.

Step II: Add green pepper slivers.
Step II: Add green pepper slivers.

DSC05376

I should have been a little more generous with the spices–but you don’t have to worry about that, because as usual, I did not include amounts for the spices/herbs.  🙂  Aren’t I helpful?  Also, a little shredded cheese would be lovely on these.  I, unfortunately, was out of cheese.  In a day or two, when my avocados are ripe, I plan on dicing some up to add to the leftovers.  That should be more than adequate in replacing my nonexistent cheese.

Step III: Add tomato.
Step III: Add tomato.

The Recipe

Ingredients

8 corn tortillas

1 lb lean ground turkey

1 can mild green chilies

1/3 c great northern beans, drained and rinsed

3 roma tomatoes, diced

1 medium green pepper, sliced thinly

cumin

chili powder

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

Servings: 8 tacos

Cook the turkey in a skillet over medium heat, until all the pink is gone, about 10-15 minutes*.  Drain immediately.  Return the skillet to the stove and reduce heat to medium-low.  Add the chilies, beans, and spices.  Stir, and let cook until the beans and chilies are heated through.  While the turkey mixture is simmering, dice the tomatoes and slice the green pepper.  Warm the corn tortillas according to the package directions.  When everything is prepared, assemble your tacos, and enjoy!

Step IV: Fold, and Enjoy!
Step IV: Fold, and Enjoy!

Chili-Turkey-Bean concoction

*It depends how thawed your ground turkey was to begin with.  Mine was only partially thawed, so mine may have taken longer than usual.

22 thoughts on “Green Chili Turkey Tacos

  1. I have been feeling the same way lately. Don’t feel like cooking, nor eating! The last couple of nights I just nibbled on left-overs in the fridge and a bowl of cereal with fresh fruit before bed. I get like this in the summer… Lazy! These tacos look great and would be perfect for just one of those nights when I don’t feel like cooking but have to if I don’t want my daughters to call social services!!

    1. I definitely would use them again. I tasted a tiny bit straight from the can, and it seemed rather spicy to me (despite it being the “mild” version) but when it was mixed in with the turkey and cooked down a little, it just added a nice flavour without being too spicy.

  2. nice! makes me hungry even though I just had breakfast 😉 Great idea to use those leftover beans. Those pictures are making my mouth water 🙂

  3. Isn’t it cool the way a starch, a protein, some kind of veggies, and a few spices can be thrown together in so many different ways to make a delicious, nutritious meal? That’s the fun of cooking! 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

