Happy Fourth of July, and a Smoothie

Happy Independence Day!

Since I thankfully get today (AND tomorrow!) off from work, I celebrated with a nice early morning run, and a delicious smoothie before heading home to visit my family for the four-day weekend.

Oops, I ate most of it.  This was delicious, despite its lack of photogenicity.  (I like making up words.)
Oops, I ate most of it. This was delicious, despite its lack of photogenicity. (I like making up words.)

Aside from wanting to wish everyone a healthy, happy Fourth of July, I wanted to let the readers of Dinner of Herbs know that I plan on occasionally posting mini recipes on the Dinner of Herbs Facebook page. ย These are recipes that are simple enough that I don’t believe they warrant a full post, or a full photography session, yet they are delicious enough that I feel like they need to be shared.

 

11 thoughts on “Happy Fourth of July, and a Smoothie

  1. We are a huge smoothie loving family, one of the few ways Mr.Picky will eat vegetables. My kids love them, and they give us a pick me up in the afternoon instead of a snack.

    1. I have to confess, I have not tried any vegetables in a smoothie yet. To me, smoothies are fruit and dairy, period. (Ok, well, maybe some nuts too, considering I use almond milk.) I know lots of people use spinach and other things, but it seems like it would not taste very good. Maybe one of these days I will be brave enough to try it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. We do spinach all the time, you can’t even taste it when mixed with fruit. I add cucumbers as well which don’t have to much flavor. And coconut milk is great, especially if you have vanilla flavored.

        1. I can definitely believe the cucumber wouldn’t add much flavour–I assume you peel it completely beforehand? I just bought some fresh spinach, so I may trust you and go ahead and try it sometime this week…

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

