{Packed Lunch Series} Introduction

Packed Lunch Series-fade

Many changes have taken place lately around Dinner of Herbs.

First, I created a Facebook page for the blog, where I am posting short almost-recipes, questions, and random updates–with many pictures, of course!

Through that endeavor, I discovered PicMonkey.  One of my goals was to “buy and master a photo-editing program”.  It may not be quite the same, but I would say it is good enough for now!  I’ve also been playing with the layout of the blog, even though I have not settled on anything yet.

I am happy to now announce the latest change at Dinner of Herbs.  I am starting a new series of posts called the {Packed Lunch Series}.  The title is rather self-explanatory, but I am going to begin posting some recipes that are great for packing for lunch to take to work or school or even a picnic!  As is always the goal at Dinner of Herbs, the recipes are intended to be simple, healthy, delicious, and cost-effective, but now also portable.

After taking several of these dishes with me to work, and eating with colleagues, I can not only say that these hold up well after sitting for hours, but I can also say with confidence that these lunches will garner many appreciative comments.  And some envy too!  Did I also mention that these colleagues had just purchased their own lunches from nearby restaurants?  Yes, even though I was the only one to bring my lunch and everyone else had hot, freshly prepared food in front of them, they were more fascinated with my colourful salads and homemade baked goods.

You will understand when you see the first post coming this Monday!

P.S.  Yes, I drew that paper sack in the picture above.  I’m pretty proud of it.  And not modest at all.

25 thoughts on “{Packed Lunch Series} Introduction

    1. I used to have the same problem, but I decided that this series would force me to try and vary my lunch choices a little more, rather than falling back on my usual apple+sandwich+carrot stick combination. I hope you find something you like!

  1. Funny I just took pictures the other day of what I am calling ” picnic pleasures” a guide on what and what not to bring to a picnic. I’m sure we will learn from each others post and look forward tour insight.

  2. I’d be very interested in seeing the recipes in this category. My husband gets only half hour for lunch, and there is no time to go buy lunch somewhere, so I send lunch from home with him every day. One can get tired of sandwiches and salads pretty quickly. 🙂

    1. I hope you (and your husband!) like some of my recipes! I have to tell you, that the first few I have lined up ARE salads…but not boring salads! So far I have no sandwiches planned, so we’re good there. I will do my best to incorporate some other dishes.

  3. Is the next step of your growing enterprise a service in which you’ll pack the lunches for us? 😉 Great work as always, Jenny. Love what you’re doing.

    1. That sounds like a lovely idea! Instead of going into full-time pharmacist-ing, I will do part-time, and spend the rest of my time preparing food! Honestly though, the idea of owning a bakery or a small restaurant sounds wonderful, but I am pretty sure that will always just be a daydream. Possibly in many years, as a sort of semi-retirement? We’ll see. 🙂

    1. It is fun! Especially when those same people had acted like I was a little odd for packing my lunch just a short time before. I think they understand after they see WHAT I brought for lunch. 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

