Apricot Pistachio Granola

apricot title

 

I think I have a problem.

I cannot stick to a recipe exactly, even if I have all the ingredients and like all of the ingredients (which is rare, now that I think of it).  I saw several apricot granola recipes lately, and settled on this one, since I had at least MOST of the ingredients.  I do not have coconut oil, and I have successfully made granola in the past with no oil.

Getting ready.
Getting ready.
Oat mixture, pre-baking.
Oat mixture, pre-baking.

Next, I decided I needed to use up some pistachios that I have had for awhile.  I also do not like overly sweet granola, so the amount of dried fruit, coconut, and honey concerned me.  I cut back on the coconut because I wanted the apricot to shine through, and I also reduced the amount of honey.

Oat mixture, after baking.
Oat mixture, after baking.
Time to mix in the apricots and pistachios!
Time to mix in the apricots and pistachios!

The result?  Deliciousness.  The coconut and oats give off an enticing aroma as they are slowly toasted in the oven.  [I believe I have mentioned my love for toasted coconut before.]  The vibrant yellow apricots and bright green pistachios give this granola some life by adding colour and flavour.

DSC05444

Sorry, this is one of those recipes that comes out extra photogenic.

apricot pistachio granola close up

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/2 c old-fashioned oats

1/8 c shredded coconut

1/2 c dried apricots, chopped

2 Tbsp sunflower kernels

1/8 c dry-roasted pistachios, shelled and roughly chopped

1 Tbsp honey

2 Tbsp water

Servings: 4-5

Heat the oven to 300oF.  Stir the oats, coconut, and sunflower kernels* together in a large bowl.  Drizzle the honey and water over top and immediately stir.  Pour onto a lined or nonstick cookie sheet or 13″x9″ pan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until it is toasted and the granola has dried.  While the granola is baking, prepare the pistachios and apricots and set aside.  Allow to cool completely before stirring in the pistachios and apricot.  Enjoy!

DSC05445

*If you use dry-roasted sunflower kernels rather than raw kernels, just add the kernels after baking, along with the apricots and pistachios.

Apricot Pistachio Granola is great with yogurt, or with Almondmilk, as shown here.
Apricot Pistachio Granola is great with yogurt, or with Almondmilk, as shown here.
18 thoughts on “Apricot Pistachio Granola

  1. Don’t worry, I can’t stick to a recipe either. Even if it’s my own. Love the no oil version. I’ve never tried making granola without it but will have to play around.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

