Recipe in Progress: Peach Souffle with Wild Raspberries

Peach Souffle with Wild Raspberries

The idea of this recipe is perfect.

After making lovely banana souffles, peach sounded like another great idea.  However, the result was not perfect.  I believe I know what changes I need to make for next time.

puffy peach souffle

  1. Peel the peach.  I know, I know, most people probably would have done this in the first place, but I like to leave the peel on things as much as possible.  It is healthier that way!
  2. Let the peach ripen more.  The peach was ripe enough to eat, but it was not ripe enough to easily mash up for a souffle.  This resulted in a souffle that was mostly egg whites with a few random chunks of peach.  Not ideal.
  3. Add more powdered sugar.  The peach was not as sweet as the banana, so more sugar is necessary.  Or, if I let the peach ripen more, as stated in #2, hopefully that will make the peach sweeter, and I might not need the added sugar!

into the peach souffle

One thing that redeemed this recipe, was the inclusion of freshly picked wild raspberries that my boyfriend and I had picked immediately before making these souffles.  I love getting over a pound of delicious berries for free.

3 peach souffles

For the recipe below, I already added that the peach needed to be very ripe and peeled, but I left the amount of powdered sugar the same.  Use your best judgment, and let me know how it goes!

The Recipe

Ingredients
1 very ripe peach, peeled and diced

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla

2 egg whites

1 1/2 Tbsp powdered sugar

Optional: fresh berries

Servings: 3 souffles

Heat the oven to 450oF.  Place a large bowl and the beaters in the fridge to chill–this will help the egg whites form peaks!  Lightly butter the ramekins and set aside on a small baking sheet.   Mash the peach in a smaller bowl, and mix in the lemon juice and vanilla.  In the chilled bowl, whip the egg whites until they form soft peaks.  Slowly add the powdered sugar and continue beating until the egg whites form stiff peaks.  Gently fold in the peach mixture.  Spoon the mixture into the ramekins.  The ramekins should be full all the way to the rim.  Place in the oven on the lowest rack to give the souffles room to rise.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the tops are evenly browned.  Serve immediately with optional fresh berries sprinkled on top.  Enjoy!

top souffle

19 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress: Peach Souffle with Wild Raspberries

  1. What a clever person. I really like this concept of a recipe in progress. Your photos are fabulous. May I ask what camera you’re using?

    1. Thanks, I am too impatient to always wait until I perfect a recipe to share it. Sometimes I also need ideas from other people, so I share, hoping they will have ideas.
      I do not have a fancy DSLR camera. I am using a 6 year old point-and-shoot camera: Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W150 Super SteadyShot.

  2. I agree, it does need the egg yolk, plus a bit of flour & butter like most other souffles … it’d be custardy creamy and still light. Roasting the peach first sounds like a good idea too, and coating the dish with sugar. You DID say the recipe was in progress, right? And ideas never hurt anyone, right? 🙂 I always enjoy your ideas.

  3. You can try roasting the peaches first to concentrate the flavor and get rid of some water/juice. Also some fat would go a long way to help set the soufflés. Maybe an egg yolk? Finally, after you butter the ramekins sprinkle them with sugar. And after you fill them run the tip of a sharp knife around the inside of the rim. It helps them rise better.

    Hope this helps!

    1. Yes, I think so, as long as you drain them first. It would be too much liquid if you didn’t drain it. The peach flavour might not be as pronounced, but it will definitely be sweet enough.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

