Healthy Carrot Spice Muffins

Healthy Carrot Spice Muffins

I have been excited about this recipe for awhile.

I love the moisture, and how the oil and butter are not missed at all.  I love the cinnamon and ginger.  I love the amount of carrot.  I love the total lack of raisins.  I love the walnuts.

Getting ready to be baked.
Getting ready to be baked.
Fresh from the oven.
Fresh from the oven.

What took me so long to post this recipe, if I’ve been so excited about it?  Well, I always seem to eat up all my carrots on salads or with hummus before I think to make these muffins.  Due to some good fortune (Aldi’s selling a pound of baby carrots for $0.25 each) I now have a surplus of carrots.  There really was no better time to make these.

carrot spice muffin above

In the past, I have used unpacked light brown sugar instead of honey.  Today, however, I was out of brown sugar, so I decided to try honey.  Honey seemed like a nice fit anyway.  It worked out nicely, but I do think it changed the texture slightly.  I would not say that it made the texture worse or better…it just changed it.

single healthy carrot spice muffinall above, carrot spice muffin
The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c white whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

3 Tbsp honey

1 packet Stevia*

1/3 c applesauce

1 egg

3/8 c non-fat, plain greek yogurt

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 c shredded carrot

1/6 c walnuts, roughly chopped

Servings: 8 muffins

Heat oven to 375oF.    Sift together the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  In a larger bowl, combine the applesauce, egg, yogurt, vanilla, and carrot.  Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Fold in the walnuts.  Spoon batter evenly into greased cupcake tins.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

carrot spice muffin 1 healthy carrot cake spice muffin close up

*Completely optional.  I added it, but I do not think it was necessary.

18 thoughts on “Healthy Carrot Spice Muffins

    1. Hmm, well you have several options. You could try making your own applesauce (I’ve heard of an easier version that involves freezing an apple or two, and then processing it in a food processor) or you could try substituting in ripe mashed banana, or just about any other type of fruit puree. (Pumpkin might be especially useful – it also has the perfect colour for these!)

    1. Yeah, I am actually planning on doing that in a few days! I am trying out a new slightly healthier cream cheese frosting recipe, and taking them in to my internship to celebrate my last few days, before I move on to my next internship.

  1. they do look good! I think there’s a rule-of-thumb about switching out sugar for honey. Lowering baking temp 25F and either upping or lowering the leavening and also cutting back a bit on the other liquid. Seems I really know my stuff. haha. Looks like you did good regardless 🙂 Those would be perfect for breakfast and can see why you get excited about them.

    1. Hmm, I will have to try those next time! Thanks for the tips. These already have a ton of leavening, so I think I will focus on the liquid and baking temps.
      I am making a double batch of these with a friend in a few days, and icing half of them with an experimental lighter cream cheese frosting to take into our coworkers, since we are moving on to new internships already.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

