Sesame Edamame Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

Sesame Edamame Salad  Dinner of Herbs

My favourite colour is red cabbage.

Ok, it could have a prettier name, but I do not think it could have a prettier appearance.  I have to confess that I took more pictures of the red cabbage than I did of my salad, while photographing this recipe.  My inexperience and lack of photographic knowledge and skill meant that very few of these pictures turned out nicely, but I cannot blame the red cabbage.  It was a beautiful, flawless subject.

DSC05581

red cabbage and carrots

Fortunately, the food portion of this post turned out delightful.  If I could improve one thing, I would have made a homemade dressing.  However, using up my store-bought light sesame dressing was much easier and quite tasty, so I have very little regrets.  Besides, part of my intentions for the Packed Lunch Series is to use easy-to-make healthy dishes that can be thrown together quickly to take to work or school or wherever you are heading.  Using a pre-made dressing definitely fulfills these requirements.

Isn't it fascinatingly beautiful?
Isn’t it fascinatingly beautiful?

The crunch of the carrots and cabbage, the gentle firmness of the edamame, and the creamy softness of the avocado work very well together, and the lightly flavoured sesame dressing brings it all together.  Besides, with such a colourful combination, all you co-workers/classmates/friends will  be sure to enviously comment on your beautiful lunch!

The avocado is not present in these photos, because I was packing it the night before, and I added the avocado in the morning right before I left for work, to prevent browning.
The avocado is not present in these photos, because I was packing it the night before, and I added the avocado in the morning right before I left for work, to prevent browning.  No light (or time!) for photos in the morning.

This salad would go very nicely with some tilapia or grilled chicken.  I was a bit more eclectic and paired it with some Homemade Rosemary Wheat Crackers, almonds, and a Carrot Spice Muffin.  Random, but delicious nonetheless.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/3 c edamame, cooked and shelled

1/4 c carrot, julienned

1/4 avocado, diced

1 c red cabbage, chopped

1 Tbsp lite sesame ginger dressing

Servings: 1 side salad

Combine the edamame, carrot, avocado, and cabbage in a small container and mix.  Drizzle the dressing over top and enjoy!

Tip: "Mukimame" is edamame, just pre-shelled.  16 oz edamame is the same price as 16 oz mukimame.  But 100% of the mukimame is edible, whereas only about 50% of the edamame is edible since you cannot eat the pods/shells, and requires shelling.  Ok, kids, which is the more intelligent buy?
Tip: “Mukimame” is edamame, just pre-shelled. 16 oz edamame is the same price as 16 oz mukimame. But 100% of the mukimame is edible, whereas only about 50% of the edamame is edible since you cannot eat the pods/shells, and requires shelling. Ok, kids, which is the more intelligent buy?  HINT:  WHICH ONE DID I BUY?! 🙂
18 thoughts on “Sesame Edamame Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

  1. I too think that red/purple cabbage is a gorgeous colour. I also love edamame and this vibrant salad looks fantastic!

  2. beautiful 🙂 That photo monkey is still working for you 😉 Another great salad. I think you are the healthiest eater on the planet.

    1. Haha, I try, but I have you all fooled. I only blog about the healthier recipes. You notice, I did not mention the large chocolate turtle brownie I ate earlier or the iced carrot cupcake I also ate. (True, the carrot cake cupcake was a bit healthier than norm, but the brownie was full oil, full fat, fully delicious.)

  3. I think sesame/edame is perfect: good combinations and it sounds like magic, like ‘ abra cadabra’ and ‘simsalabim’ . I really enjoy your packed lunch series, so much better than a rushed ready made plate in a crowed restaurant. Thanks!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

