Recipe in Progress: Homemade Rosemary Wheat Crackers

Rosemary Wheat Crackers  Dinner of Herbs

Why is it so exciting to make everyday items from scratch?

I’m talking about things that people buy at the store without even thinking about it.  Bread.  Crackers.  Cereal and granola.  Hummus.  Salad dressing.  My guess is that people are so used to buying these items that they do not think about or maybe even know what they are made from anymore.  Think about it.  What is ranch dressing?  “Creamy white stuff with ranch flavouring” is not good enough.  I had to look up what went into ranch dressing, and I had a hard time finding a true recipe.  Most recipes would only go so far as to tell you to mix together some yogurt and a ranch seasoning packet from Hidden Valley.  Bah.

This is what the dough should look like when you've added just the right amount of water.
This is what the dough should look like when you’ve added just the right amount of water.
Roll out the dough...
Roll out the dough…
This is how thick my dough was....roll it thinner than this.
This is how thick my dough was….roll it thinner than this.

I have also run into this sort of forgetfulness when I make my own granola.  In two separate incidences, each of my two roommates happened to walk into the kitchen while I was making a batch of granola.  They asked what I was making, and I told them.  Their responses were almost identical, “You can MAKE granola?!  I didn’t know people did that”.  I was not sure how to politely point out that of COURSE it is possible to make granola…anything at the grocery store has been MADE.  It didn’t just poof into existence at the grocery store, pre-packaged.  I would also like to mention that both of my roommates are also in pharmacy and far from being unintelligent.

Slice the dough into cracker-shapes.
Slice the dough into cracker-shapes.
Place on the baking sheet.
Place on the baking sheet and use a toothpick to pierce the crackers.

Ok, enough lecturing.  For some reason I find it exciting to make things that most people, including myself, just buy at the grocery pre-made.  I’ve made breads, granolas, English muffins, bagels, Lofthouse-style sugar cookies, hummus, and much more.  However, I had never even thought of attempting crackers.  It seemed impossible.

Well, I found this recipe, and I was tempted.  Whole wheat crackers, and judging from the picture, they were indistinguishable from store-bought crackers.  I had to try them.

Halfway finished baking!  Time to flip them over.
Halfway finished baking! Time to flip them over.
Finished baking on both sides!
Finished baking on both sides!

Try them, I did!  I split the batch in two, and added rosemary to half.  I rolled out and baked the rosemary ones before I moved on to the second batch, to see if I needed to make any changes.  It was good that I waited, because I definitely did not roll these thin enough!  They came out more like little pillows than crackers.  But they still are quite edible, so I am not too upset.  The rosemary was lovely.

Rosemary Wheat Pillows!  er...I mean...Rosemary Wheat Crackers!  sort of...
Rosemary Wheat Pillows! er…I mean…Rosemary Wheat Crackers! sort of…

Moral of this recipe:  Roll these as thin as you can.  Don’t worry about a measurement, just keep making it thinner.

Next time I will tell you what flavor I experimented with, and show you how my second batch turned out.  Stay tuned.

18 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress: Homemade Rosemary Wheat Crackers

  1. I absolutely love that you get “excited” about making things from scratch and not just anything but yummy things! Here’s to your enthusiasm starting a revolution!

  2. I also love experimenting with regular everyday stuff that we’re so used to buying in a box. I tried crackers a while back. I’ll have to do it again..these look yummy 🙂
    I found a really hard time duplicating Ranch as well. It’s my husband’s favourite and I really, really wanted to make a good version so he’d stop using the bottled stuff. Lots of trial and error but I finally found a decent one!

  3. Wholeheartedly agree re: DIY foods. The only major fails I’ve had are ketchup and A-1 steak sauce–will continue to purchase those. Highly recommend “Bake the Bread, Buy the Butter” as it’s a fun read. (may have title wrong) Butter is fun to make too, though 🙂 Love your roommates’ reaction and good for you for showing them the way! Granola is far better homemade. Most things are 🙂

    1. I’m more of a mustard girl, so I won’t be attempting homemade ketchup any time soon. However, A-1 steak sauce sounds intriguing…
      You’ve made butter? I’m impressed. Can I borrow your churn to make my own butter sometime? 😉

      1. heehee–you just need a stand mixer. Whip cream until it curdles, then whip it some more, then strain off the buttermilk (which is nothing like cultured buttermilk sold in stores–it’s refreshing to drink and also good for baking), massage the butter to bring it together and mix in salt. Ta-da! It’s a fun “experiment” and very cool to say you made your own butter.

  4. I, too, have baked a lot of things and have become infatuated with crackers. Keep trying to adjust your recipe…these actually look pretty good. Homemade granola is the best even though it is full of calories. I start out making the granola then make it into a bar by adding brown sugar, butter, honey and a little bit of whole wheat flour. I get a kick, too, out of people who don’t know things can be made AT HOME!!! They taste better and we can be assured of their quality. I enjoy your blog!!!

    1. Mmm, yes I love granola. I have 2 flavours right now, and I managed to keep it fairly light in the calorie department. As always, it’s a pleasure to see you and thank you for stopping by!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

