Homemade Garlic-Dill Wheat Crackers

Garlic-Dill Wheat Crackers  Dinner of Herbs

Remember last time?

Last time I made Rosemary Wheat Crackers.  They came out more like Rosemary Wheat Pillows.

This time I was determined to do better.  Still using this recipe as the basis, I added a generous sprinkling of dill and garlic powder for flavour.  I rolled the dough out much thinner this time.

DSC05550

Much thinner this time, see?
Much thinner this time, see?

The result was much better than last time, but I believe I still need to roll the dough out even thinner.  A few of these crackers were at least getting a little crunchy, but for the most part they were still too thick to be compared to store-bought crackers.  I was a little wary of rolling the dough out too thin, because I was concerned that the dough would stick to the counter, and I would never be able to transfer it to the baking sheet.  Using aluminum foil successfully prevented any excessive sticking.

Thinner dough = more crackers!
Thinner dough = more crackers!

I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into cracker-sized pieces.  This way I did not have to mess with balling up leftover dough and re-rolling it and repeating the process a million times.  Sure, the end crackers looked a little misshapen, but who cares?  It’s going to be a lot more misshapen when I bite into it and chew it up!

Rosemary Wheat Crackers on the right, and Garlic-Dill on the left.
Rosemary Wheat Crackers on the right, and Garlic-Dill on the left.

The crackers were close enough to store-bought that I consider it a success.  🙂

23 thoughts on “Homemade Garlic-Dill Wheat Crackers

  1. Homemade saltines are so much better than the commercial kind. The recipe is on page 585 of The Fannie Farmer Baking Book by Marion Cunningham, but the secret is to roll them thinner than you can imagine. Baking them, not frying them, works just fine.

  2. Making food at home, is always, so much better for us, then buying them at the store! These look great!!!

    1. Yes, that sounds perfect! I ate these with tuna salad that I make with egg, cucumber, dill, and greek yogurt. Since they both have dill, it was an easy decision to pair them together.

  3. here is my “cheez-it” story. http://wp.me/p2dvv9-ed (it’s also a rah-rah for DIY foods, an attitude we seem to share 🙂 )

    I have yet to roll the cracker thin enough for store-bought levels of crisp. And I think that texture can only be achieved by frying.

    You are the Cracker Queen and I love that you keep at it. Enjoying your enthusiasm very much.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

