Berry Almond Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

Berry Almond Salad  Dinner of Herbs

I have a confession.

I may have added the red cabbage to this salad purely for aesthetic reasons.  I could try and say I added it because I felt the crunchiness would be a nice contrast to the soft strawberries, blueberries, and avocados.  I could try and say I added it because I felt the nutritious aspect of red cabbage justified its addition to the mix.  While these are good reasons, they were not what prompted me to include the red cabbage.  Sorry, sometimes I just like pretty things.

DSC05595

Fortunately, my shallowness did not adversely affect the outcome!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c spinach

3-4 large strawberries, sliced

2 Tbsp blueberries

1 1/2 Tbsp dry-roasted almonds

1/4 c red cabbage, chopped

1/2 avocado, diced

Servings: 1 salad

Combine all ingredients in a small container and toss.  Enjoy!

DSC05593

17 thoughts on “Berry Almond Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

    1. Thank you, I’m very honoured! However, you’re right–I haven’t been doing awards. I appreciate people nominating me, but I do not like chain things (even ones as innocent and good-intentioned as these Liebster Awards, Sunny Blogger Awards, and whatever else there is). But thank you again for thinking of my blog!

  1. It’s like you’re just throwing stuff in a bowl and it goes and makes and awesome salad! Like I said earlier, 2+2=5 in your kitchen 🙂

    1. Well, if you aren’t allergic to walnuts or pecans, either would work very well on this salad too. If you’re allergic to all nuts, I am really sorry. 😦 I would hate to not be able to eat nuts!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

