Italian Ham Wrap {Packed Lunch Edition}

Italian Ham Wrap  Dinner of Herbs

So far I have only shown you half of my lunches for the Packed Lunch Series.

I do not just eat salads.  I need variety, and something a little less…vegetarian.  Or at least something involving bread or crackers.

This wrap manages to avoid going into carb overload, but satisfies my non-vegetable desire. Have you tried Flatout wraps before?  I had not, until recently.  The Light Sundried Tomato is wonderful.  I sadly ate all of those wraps before I thought to actually take some pictures and create a post.  Maybe next time…

Until then, I do have this mini recipe for a healthy, delicious wrap.  I only make half a wrap per lunch, to cut down on the cost of the Flatout wraps.  They can be a bit costly, but they are huge!  (And delicious…and healthy…so go ahead a buy them when on sale.)  Since I am also eating a salad and probably at least one other item with lunch, I only need half a wrap.  Feel free to double the recipe.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 Italian Light FlatOut wrap

1 Tbsp tomato-basil hummus

1/2 slice muenster cheese

1 thick slice ham

1/2 c fresh spinach

1/4 c cucumber, thinly sliced*

1/4 roma tomato, thinly sliced

Servings: 1 wrap

Spread the hummus on one side of the wrap.  Layer the cheese, ham, spinach, cucumber, and tomato on top of the hummus.  Fold both sides of the wrap inwards to close it.  Enjoy!

*Tip:  If you are preparing these the night before (like me!) and you don’t want soggy wraps (like me!) then you can lightly salt both sides of the cucumber slices and sit on a paper towel for a few minutes.  Drain off the excess water, and then add to the wrap.  You can also try this with the tomato, with some success.  Just don’t overdo the salt, since the wrap, ham, cheese, and hummus generally provide plenty of saltiness for this wrap.  You can rinse the salt off the cucumber after it has sat for awhile, if you wish.

3 thoughts on “Italian Ham Wrap {Packed Lunch Edition}

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

