An Attempt at Grilling: Salt and Vinegar Potatoes and Lemon-Basil Carrots and Orange Peppers

first grilling

Hamburgers are wonderful.

But they are not the only things that you can grill.  My family also grills hot dogs (which I hate) and occasionally bratwursts (which I love), but that is all.  This year, I decided we needed to branch out a little.  Being a little healthier also sounded like a good idea, since our only side dish to our hamburgers is potato salad, or potato chips.  While potatoes are considered by some to be vegetables by some, I do not think adding potato salad to grilled hamburgers creates a well-rounded meal.  (And yet, it creates well-rounded people…oh the irony.)

potatoes

I came up with two new side dishes.  To replace the potato salad (and leave behind the copious amounts of mayonnaise!) I settled on salt and vinegar potatoes.  Yes, it is not much healthier, but I felt that it was a good compromise.  I did not want my family to feel deprived, so I thought we could all agree on salt and vinegar potatoes.

side peppers

Next, I went for grilled peppers (which I have tried once before with success, when celebrating my boyfriend’s birthday) and carrots.  I could not pass up using some of the fresh basil from our garden, and lemon juice paired nicely with it.  Garlic is garlic, and should be added to everything except dessert.  Just my opinion.

carrots and peppers

Unfortunately, I do not think the grill was hot enough, because everything took longer to cook than usual, and in the end, I think it should have cooked longer.  I wrote the recipes and directions below assuming that you will have a fully functioning, hot grill.

spiced peppers

Salt and Vinegar Potatoes

The Recipe

Ingredients

4 small potatoes

2 c vinegar, approximately

salt, generously

Servings: 3-4

Slice the potatoes into equally thick slices.  I made mine approximately 1/8″ thick.  Place the potatoes in a small pot, and pour in vinegar until the potatoes are just covered.  Bring to a boil.  Boil until the potatoes are just barely becoming fork-tender.  Drain the potatoes, then place on the grill.  Grill until golden brown and soft in the middle.

Lemon-Basil Carrots and Orange Peppers

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 medium orange pepper, sliced thinly

2 medium carrots, peeled and quartered

lemon juice

garlic powder

salt

fresh basil

Servings: 3-4

Combine the pepper, carrot, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and basil in a bowl.  Toss to coat the carrots and pepper.  Place on aluminum foil and fold the aluminum foil up to seal the vegetables in.  Place on the grill for about 10-15 minutes, until the vegetables are lightly browned and tender.

12 thoughts on “An Attempt at Grilling: Salt and Vinegar Potatoes and Lemon-Basil Carrots and Orange Peppers

  1. Beautiful! You have a great sense for colors and textures 🙂 FYI: I made garlic choc chip cookies once and they were good! Who knew? Glad you went grilling–I’d say you did more than “attempt” 😉

    1. Garlic chocolate chip cookies?! I have considered making rosemary shortbread cookies, but never garlic chocolate chip! How did you end up making those? On accident? On a dare? Out of boredom?

  2. Yummie! I love grilled veggies. Have you tried zucchinis yet? Just slice thickly and brush with flavored olive oil and on the grill for only 2 minutes. You can use them in/on anything!!! Thank for this recipe. Have a great day, Johanna

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

